Brotchen Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Simply and easy, rolls turned out good but I would add some salt in next time to make them perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
With changes this is a 5 star recipe! My husband is a German citizen, and we go there often for extended vacations, we always miss the bread when we get back. We have tried dozens and dozens of times to bake brotchen rolls, one weekend we made over a half dozen recipes, this was the best one of all the recipes we tried but we made *Several* changes to get the flavor we wanted. We only bake this kind of bread on a stone if possible. We also added about a tsp of salt, and increased the sugar to about 2 tbsp. Don't use water, but use whole milk instead. Make the rolls bigger, only 8 not 12. The second time they rise, don't cover them with anything. Finally about the actual baking. Place a tray of ice cubes on the bottom of the oven to create a nice steam in the oven, and only cook these on the bottom rack. Follow this method and it will be the closest you will get to real brotchen without going to Germany.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Great Recipe! I made a few tweaks: when placing rolls in over to bake, place a shallow dish with 1/2 cup of water on the bottom rack as well. The moisture helps to give it that great crust that you find at bakeries and is delicious. Additionally, I added cheddar cheese and crumbled bacon to the dough and then sprinkled the tops with cheddar cheese as well after I sliced an "x" into the top. Beautiful and delicious, my faince will be so happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Definitely needs salt. Doubled so I could make long rolls for sandwiches; used almost 5 cups flour, not quite. Taste was good, except for needing salt, texture inside was great. However, outside came out too crispy, maybe it was the egg wash, I'm not sure. Will try with salt and no wash next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Growing up in Germany we had brotchen every weekend. This is pretty close to the real thing. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I'm glad I read over the reviews before making this. Using 1 tsp of salt really brought out a good flavor to the bread. I used water, but will try it with milk for comparison the next time I make it. I am a beginner when it comes to baking but I found this recipe extremely simple and quite forgiving! While making the dough I was worried that it was too dry and added a little bit of water. It ended up making the dough wetter than I wanted. Lucky for me, using some of the reserved 1/2 cup of bread flour while kneading fixed it right up again. Maybe it was because of my earlier fudge-up, but I ended up kneading the dough a little bit longer, about 10-15 mins. to get that good, squishy elasticity. Instead of making 12 small rolls, I also made 8 slightly bigger rolls so I could use it to make sandwiches. In an end rush I forgot to separate my egg white and used the whole egg with some water to make the wash.. No biggie though. I baked them on a stone for 20 minutes until beautifully golden brown. After cooling they came out really soft and chewy. I used them tonight to make buffalo chicken sandwiches and honey mustard chicken sandwiches. Both got rave reviews! This will definitely be one of my go-to recipes. Thank you so very much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
It was very good- worth all that extra rising time. I changed it a bit, and substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour for 1 cup white flour. I was actually afraid it would be too salty, but once it was baked it was perfect. Just like buns from a bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
These rolls have a wonderful chewy texture. They were very simple to make. The flavor is a bit bland, however. Next time I'm going to add a bit of salt. But there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
My daughter and niece both loved these rolls. The adults in the family thought it needed some salt. It was easy to add, and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
A little on the bland side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States