Brotchen Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Simply and easy, rolls turned out good but I would add some salt in next time to make them perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I will agree with the others, that it needs salt. However, it is missing a more important ingredient, I believe. In the 1960s, I lived with my parents, who were stationed in Baumholder, Germany, and we loved the fresh breads that were sold in the village. However, there were two types of Brötchen:water and milk. The milk Brötchen was so much better, and we quickly quit buying the water Brötchen, in favour of the milk Brötchen. I suggest that the water be replaced with whole milk, or half/half. You will clearly notice a Huge difference here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
It was very good- worth all that extra rising time. I changed it a bit, and substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour for 1 cup white flour. I was actually afraid it would be too salty, but once it was baked it was perfect. Just like buns from a bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GREENMANOK
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Has a great crust, crispy without being tough, nice and soft on the inside, but *desperately* needs salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
These rolls are good, but are NOT brotchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2005
These were Very Good. I did add a pinch of salt (per other reviewers) and I am really glad that I did. Will definately make again. Looks great for company. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Turned out very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I wish I had read the previous reviews before starting - this definitely could have used a pinch of salt, as the others noted. But it was extremely easy (the FIRST successful thing I've made with yeast, I'm only 21 and haven't baked all that much). I immediately baked half the recipe, but first I mixed it with small-cubed cheddar cheese, tiny chopped onions, and fresh garlic. I sprinkled the top with a little extra cheese. They came out wonderfully! Wow! I took the other half and, as instructed in the page with general info about rolls, froze them in roll shape before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
These rolls have a wonderful chewy texture. They were very simple to make. The flavor is a bit bland, however. Next time I'm going to add a bit of salt. But there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
My daughter and niece both loved these rolls. The adults in the family thought it needed some salt. It was easy to add, and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States