Brookville Hotel Sweet and Sour Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This is my first review ever, but I had to submit one because I am sooooo pleased with myself for accomplishing this! Also, this is my very first attempt at making coleslaw...but I wanted to use ingredients from my garden(also a first year for that as well!) I used the "sauce" just as listed adjusting the amount of cream and vinegar to my liking-it was perfect, and I like that there isn't all that mayonnaise in it! I used cabbage, broccoli, onion, banana peppers, from my garden...I did add store bought carrots, and purple cabbage for color it was gorgeous and delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I live just miles away from the Brookville Hotel. This is spot on....I've made it many times. My family loves it. I wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falun, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
We love this recipe..... My husband and daughter do not eat mayo and I like a creamy base..... this is the best of both worlds.... I could eat the dressing with a spoon..... I did add red cabbage and carrots.. but you could have fun and add anything....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My grandmother made like dressing using pure cream from raw milk. I have been to Brookville Hotel when it was in Brookville, KS. Our honeymoon night was at Brookville Hotel with their good chicken dinner. When I lived in Abilene I would order to go a chicken dinner for about 1/2 price of dining in. Now I live in Marquette, KS nursing home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I used to hate coleslaw. The very thought of it made me gag. Then I moved to Kansas and visited the Brookville Hotel with a group of friends, who insisted that this was different. I put the smallest possible amount on my plate, anticipating that it would ruin the meal, but I was wrong, to my then-friend, now-husband's delight. Thirteen years later, I'm still not a huge fan of most coleslaw, but this recipe makes it to our table quite frequently during the summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I added some shredded red cabbage and 1 shredded carrot to give it some color. It was good, but I didn't think it was much different from most cole slaw I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I have had this recipe for at least 30 years and it is absolutely the best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
this is pretty colorless. i would add red cabbage and shredded carrots and maybe even some dried cranberries and dried dill weed. this really needs a bit of imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This is quite good, and I can't even stand cabbage! I needed to use up the rest of the head I bought for St. Patrick's Day, and the man loves coleslaw, so I decided to try this. He really enjoyed it, and I was shocked that I liked it as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This is absolutely delicious! I love the creamy, sweet and sour taste of it. It reminds me so much of my very favorite coleslaw, made by a very famous Colonel who also made great fried chicken! I'm so glad I came across this recipe...I know our family will be eating a lot more cabbage salad because of it! Thank you so much for sharing this winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zaharabeauty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: La Habra Heights, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States