Brookville Hotel Sweet and Sour Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This is the only slaw recipe I use. It has been a family tradition for at least 50 years. Remember fondly trips to the Brookville Hotel as a child and on return trips home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
We loved it. Doesn't need anything but cabbage but you can add what ever you enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This is my first review ever, but I had to submit one because I am sooooo pleased with myself for accomplishing this! Also, this is my very first attempt at making coleslaw...but I wanted to use ingredients from my garden(also a first year for that as well!) I used the "sauce" just as listed adjusting the amount of cream and vinegar to my liking-it was perfect, and I like that there isn't all that mayonnaise in it! I used cabbage, broccoli, onion, banana peppers, from my garden...I did add store bought carrots, and purple cabbage for color it was gorgeous and delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I live just miles away from the Brookville Hotel. This is spot on....I've made it many times. My family loves it. I wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falun, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
We love this recipe..... My husband and daughter do not eat mayo and I like a creamy base..... this is the best of both worlds.... I could eat the dressing with a spoon..... I did add red cabbage and carrots.. but you could have fun and add anything....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My grandmother made like dressing using pure cream from raw milk. I have been to Brookville Hotel when it was in Brookville, KS. Our honeymoon night was at Brookville Hotel with their good chicken dinner. When I lived in Abilene I would order to go a chicken dinner for about 1/2 price of dining in. Now I live in Marquette, KS nursing home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I used to hate coleslaw. The very thought of it made me gag. Then I moved to Kansas and visited the Brookville Hotel with a group of friends, who insisted that this was different. I put the smallest possible amount on my plate, anticipating that it would ruin the meal, but I was wrong, to my then-friend, now-husband's delight. Thirteen years later, I'm still not a huge fan of most coleslaw, but this recipe makes it to our table quite frequently during the summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I added some shredded red cabbage and 1 shredded carrot to give it some color. It was good, but I didn't think it was much different from most cole slaw I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I have had this recipe for at least 30 years and it is absolutely the best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
this is pretty colorless. i would add red cabbage and shredded carrots and maybe even some dried cranberries and dried dill weed. this really needs a bit of imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States