Brookville Hotel Sweet and Sour Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I live just miles away from the Brookville Hotel. This is spot on....I've made it many times. My family loves it. I wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falun, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
We love this recipe..... My husband and daughter do not eat mayo and I like a creamy base..... this is the best of both worlds.... I could eat the dressing with a spoon..... I did add red cabbage and carrots.. but you could have fun and add anything....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My grandmother made like dressing using pure cream from raw milk. I have been to Brookville Hotel when it was in Brookville, KS. Our honeymoon night was at Brookville Hotel with their good chicken dinner. When I lived in Abilene I would order to go a chicken dinner for about 1/2 price of dining in. Now I live in Marquette, KS nursing home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I used to hate coleslaw. The very thought of it made me gag. Then I moved to Kansas and visited the Brookville Hotel with a group of friends, who insisted that this was different. I put the smallest possible amount on my plate, anticipating that it would ruin the meal, but I was wrong, to my then-friend, now-husband's delight. Thirteen years later, I'm still not a huge fan of most coleslaw, but this recipe makes it to our table quite frequently during the summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I added some shredded red cabbage and 1 shredded carrot to give it some color. It was good, but I didn't think it was much different from most cole slaw I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I have had this recipe for at least 30 years and it is absolutely the best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
this is pretty colorless. i would add red cabbage and shredded carrots and maybe even some dried cranberries and dried dill weed. this really needs a bit of imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This is quite good, and I can't even stand cabbage! I needed to use up the rest of the head I bought for St. Patrick's Day, and the man loves coleslaw, so I decided to try this. He really enjoyed it, and I was shocked that I liked it as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This is absolutely delicious! I love the creamy, sweet and sour taste of it. It reminds me so much of my very favorite coleslaw, made by a very famous Colonel who also made great fried chicken! I'm so glad I came across this recipe...I know our family will be eating a lot more cabbage salad because of it! Thank you so much for sharing this winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zaharabeauty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: La Habra Heights, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Great and so easy to make. Will make it again as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States