Brookville Hotel Cream-Style Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I took this to a potluck and word spread about how good it was. I was very proud that I made this. I will have to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I used this recipe more as inspiration than anything. I made a few changes, but loved what I turned it into. I used 2 cans of whole kernel corn, drained, milk instead of heavy cream (because that's what I had on hand), 1/2 teaspoon of salt (because I used canned corn which has a pretty good amount of salt already), I left the corn starch at 1 tablespoon and after tasting I ended up with a total of 2 tablespoons of sugar. This recipe is SO easy and delicious! I love creamed corn, but hate how the canned stuff is not whole kernel and it's pretty soupy. This had the wonderful taste, but was thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I love this recipe as a basis for cream style corn. I only had canned green giant whole kernel corn so i used my hand mixer and creamed one can of corn, sauteed 2 cans of whole kernel corn in 3 tablespoons of butter added the creamed corn i crushed with the hand mixer and added 1 tsp salt and 2 tbls sugar. I allowed it to fuse the flavors for about 10 minutes and mixed together 1 cup heavy cream and 1 tbls cornstarch. I adjusted the salt and sugar to taste. I added the heavy cream mixture and continued to cook on medium heat while stirring and voila it was done to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I liked this. Blend a little with an emersion(sp?) blender if you want it a bit more creamy, that's my favorite way to do it. I use this in recipes which call for canned creamed corn and it makes everything taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tallya
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is a keeper! The only change I made is that I used 1/2 & 1/2 since I didn't have any heavy cream. It worked just as well. After cooking for 20 min, I used my immersion blender a bit to blend some of the corn up. Even my grand daughter loved this. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Finally a simple recipe that doesn't just use canned corn. I needed to use some ears that were starting to shrink up and this was perfect. I used 4 ears of corn, cut off the cob and processed a little, a can of evaporated milk and followed the rest of the recipe. The flavor is wonderful but since I used fresh corn I think it should cook longer depending on the texture you want. The 20 minutes still gave it a crunch which I like but simmering an extra 10 or so probably wouldn't hurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I decreased the serving for this so that could be the reason for my issue but this got really thick, I did really enjoy the flavor, but I had to add lots of extra milk to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Best creamed corn ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Awesome and very rich, a good side for a winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
a keeper! the taste was good, not too sweet or salty and it was very easy to make. i used canned corn, about 1C cream and added a splash milk (it didnt seem to have enough liquid). i also followed another reviewers suggestion and used my hand held blender to give it a few blitzes to cream some of the corn too. worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMS1115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colma, California, USA
Living In: Alkmaar, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States