Brookville Hotel Cream-Style Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
It taste's like your average cream corn. It is good and we will have it again; I guess I was just looking for something more...wow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I thought this was delicious and my boyfriend loved it! It will definately be something I make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Gould

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caro, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Going to the Brookville hotel was a special treat for my family when I was a kid. The hotel became nearly a legend mostly because of it's great down-home, Kansas food. This is a favorite cream corn by those who typically say that they don't like cream corn. I am always asked to bring this to family dinners. Easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
My family has been using this recipe for YEARS!!! My family is from Kansas and my Grandmother got the recipe from the actual hotel. We also have an ice cream recipe from there too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I thought this corn was a pretty good recipe. It got my husband to eat it and he doesnt care for corn but I would omit the cream cheese and only add half the butter at first and then when it was done in the oven add the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I tend to agree that the corn needs to be creamier, not just whole kernals immersed in a crazy amount of cream. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
My kids didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shirley zumbrun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Great recipe. Very easy and huge portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
I have been looking for a creamed corn recipe like this. It is so good. This is a keeper for me. I added more cream because I love it creamy! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This is very good, but cream-style corn should have some creamy corn in it, not just corn kernels with cream. Southern homemade cream-style corn is made by slicing the kernels of a corn cob then sliding the knife blade down the cob, scraping off what's left of the corn kernels. This makes a creamier dish without the use of cream (my grandparents in Kentucky make this every year and freeze it for the winter). I used the immersion blender on this corn for a couple of pulses and that helped immensely for those of us who don't like large kernels in our cream-style corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States