Brookville Hotel Cream-Style Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
SO easy and SO good! I stuck to the original recipe and my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
my family loves to eat this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I will be making this again at Christmas. Thanksgiving was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kidd994

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Granted, it could be my cooking skills, but this recipe does not make Brookville Corn. Sorry. It is not a bad recipe, but for Brookville corn, it is too thick and too sweet. I am questioning the idea of using heavy cream and corn starch. I am wondering about half and half and corn starch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I Love this recipe. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly and it was really good. I am a single person though and it is a big recipe so the last time I just made one microwavable package of sweet corn and adjusted the remainder of the ingredients (I didn't add the cornstarch). I LOVE this corn and actually look forward to eating a vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Holy Cow! I can't believe I found this recipe on here! I ate this at the oringinal Brookville Hotel when I was a little girl! It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This corn is fantastic! I've been using this recipe for a few years now, the only modification is that I subsitute milk for the cream; cuts down on the fat but tastes just as rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicymum79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I have made this recipe for the holidays but the variation I use makes a roux out of 1 tablespoon of flour and 1 tablespoon of buttter. You melt the butter and then stir in the flour, then add the corn and cream. The corn is placed into a casserole dish and baked at 350 for about 20 minutes, or until bubbling. The texture is better than using cornstarch, which tends to breakdown with reheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This makes the best creamed corn I've ever had. I throw in a little parmesian cheese to the mix sometimes. We've enjoyed this with our fresh corn out of the garden several times this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
The dish was very tasty, however I do agree with another reviewer who stated it is better to have the corn minced (at least some kernels) to make it fuller. Seems like a small detail, but an important element, otherwise it's just corn and liquid (maybe because I'm from the south too). Anyway, used half & half too, to cut down on fat, and canned corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States