Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I had made these before and thought they were pretty good, but not great - just made them again and I'm wondering if I messed something up the first time because they are really, really good! They're very thick, they look a little cake-like, but are very fudgy. Very decadent, chocolaty brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Delicious! These are dense and rich! If you don't like a sweet, fudgy brownie, don't make these. Most of the lower ratings were due to people decreasing the amount of sugar. If you want a 5 star brownie, use all 3c. of sugar. If you want a 3 star recipe, decrease your sugar...its that simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Okay, these were great. I made 2 small changes. First, instead of 3C white sugar, I used half/half of regular sugar and brown sugar. Next, I didn't have semisweet chocolate morsels, so I chopped up some squares of semisweet chocolate. Worked just fine. When I cut up the chocolate, alot was in slivers, so melted & helped form a fudgy synergy! I'd recommend this & I'll definately make it again. Maybe try pecans next time. Also, I used the 9x13 pan recommended; but were kind of thin...so I might try a slightly smaller pan next time & see if I can get them a little thicker, without affecting the gooey light texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
496 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
My family is a brownie family...and my husband said these are the best brownies he has ever had! I usually make the ones from a box, and he said these are far better. They were really fudgy and soft. I coated the chocolate chips in a little flour before putting them in the batter so they wouldn't fall to the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
These brownies came out great, so fudgy and chewy! Sine there is extra egg in place of the usual oil and no baking soda/powder, the result is an intensely rich, decadent brownie. I used milk chocolate chips and used 1 1/2 c. white sugar and 1 1/2 c. brown sugar. I have found that this adds a more saturated, special flavor. The best way I have found to melt sticks of butter is to place them in a large, microwaveable Tupperware cup and microwave them for 30+ seconds. By doing this, you don't have to go through the hastle of cutting the butter. Also, in place of sifting the flour mixture, all you need to do is whisk it. Whisking produces the exact same effect/texture as using a conventional sifter, plus it is much easier to clean! I highly reccomend this recipe. You have got a winner with this one Brooke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
978 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
These really are the bomb! Lol. They really are good. Moist, dense, chewy and fudgy. Love that great brownie texture. One cup of cocoa powder makes these really intense. Love the chocolate chips too. Oh, I cut the sugar down to 2 1/4 cups and added one cup of chopped walnuts. Watch the baking time- I think if I had baked one minute longer (than the 35 listed) they would not have been as good. We had these as brownie sundaes with vanilla ice cream, whipped cream, caramel sauce and peanut butter M&M's. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I brought these to a 4th of July cook-out today and received rave reviews. I used mini-chocolate morsels which were nicely distributed throughout the end product. I had been looking for a recipe that would yield a nice thick brownie and I have finally found a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NHORAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I thought these brownies were easy to make and fabulous...they tasted like baked fudge while they were still warm and just as yummy cooled down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
These are terrific! My husband and son ate almost a whole batch in one night. They're begging me to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Very Good Brownies! Made them without the choc chips just because I was out of them and its still a good brownie. Add this one to your recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States