Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Excellent! One reviewer said "too sweet" (although I think sweet is a given with brownies, and that's not necessarily a bad thing). Only changes I made were decrease sugar by about 1/2 cup, and increased flour by about 1/4 to 1/3 cup only because I'm at high altitude. I usually like nuts in brownies, but this recipe is better without nuts. Very good and I will make these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Turned out really bad...... Grainy and hard to chew. Threw out the whole thing. Waste of a lot of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I liked these but they are certainly not the best, I made these a second time but used the cheese cake brownie idea to make them a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Wow, these are the best from scratch brownies ever. First, I used the 9x13 pan and I think this is the ideal pan for this recipe. I used 1/2 light brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar, I know from other recipes that brownies take more sugar than flour but was a little nervous to all that white sugar. I really liked using 1/2 and 1/2, I think next time I'll try just a hair less sugar in total. I used the whole cup of Nestle cocoa, and followed the rest of the recipe as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as stated, and they came out well. I cooked mine in an 11 x 14" glass pan as I saw someone say how thick they were even in a 9 x 13 pan. I baked them for the length of time it said, but probably could have added another 5 minutes. Glass pans seem to take a little longer. Anyway, there was nothing *wrong* with these brownies, but they are just too rich and fudgy for my taste. They had a nice brownie 'crust' on top, which I always like and is important to some, so I thought I'd mention that. If you're looking for really dark and rich brownies with a nice crust, then go for these. If you want something not quite so intense, find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MP McDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Oh my Gosh!! First time ever making homemade brownies and will "never" make a boxed brownie again!! Brooke!! So glad I found your recipe!!! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
These brownies were just OK. They were VERY fudgy and chewy. I actually thought they were too chewy. Almost beyond a brownie texture. I did substitute 1 C of brown sugar for white, per user suggestion and I regret that. The flavor is a decent but not spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmconl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
These brownies truly are the BOMB! They remind me of the kind of brownies you find in a coffee shop and don't taste at all like boxed brownie mix. They have more of a cocoa powder, richer flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Nice crust on top, chewy in the middle. Best "from scratch" brownies I have made. I substituted 1/2 cup vegetable oil for half the butter and cut out 1/3 or 1/2 a cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Tried this recipe this week. OUTSTANDING!! I have been looking for a brownie recipe that was made from scratch with that chewy box brownie consistency. This is a winner here! I've probably tried a dozen recipes over the years, and these were my best homemade brownies yet--thick, fudgy, flavorful--yum! My family adored them. No more box mix for me. I melted about a quarter cup of peanut butter with my butter before mixing in the sugar. So good! Can't wait to try some other variations--marshmallows for rocky road, some caramel and pecans for turtle brownies, maybe even snicker or cheesecake! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKAESIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,572) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States