Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
These brownies came out great, so fudgy and chewy! Sine there is extra egg in place of the usual oil and no baking soda/powder, the result is an intensely rich, decadent brownie. I used milk chocolate chips and used 1 1/2 c. white sugar and 1 1/2 c. brown sugar. I have found that this adds a more saturated, special flavor. The best way I have found to melt sticks of butter is to place them in a large, microwaveable Tupperware cup and microwave them for 30+ seconds. By doing this, you don't have to go through the hastle of cutting the butter. Also, in place of sifting the flour mixture, all you need to do is whisk it. Whisking produces the exact same effect/texture as using a conventional sifter, plus it is much easier to clean! I highly reccomend this recipe. You have got a winner with this one Brooke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
977 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
DO NOT bake this recipe in a 9x9 pan, you will regret it and waste a fantastic brownie batter. In a 9x9,I ended up w/ 4" thick chocolate bricks, so I tried again 2 days later in a 13x9 and got the fudgiest thickest and delicious brownies I've ever had. The top was perfect and did not crack when I cut into squares. This is will be my brownie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
848 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina and the kidz!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Manvel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Okay, these were great. I made 2 small changes. First, instead of 3C white sugar, I used half/half of regular sugar and brown sugar. Next, I didn't have semisweet chocolate morsels, so I chopped up some squares of semisweet chocolate. Worked just fine. When I cut up the chocolate, alot was in slivers, so melted & helped form a fudgy synergy! I'd recommend this & I'll definately make it again. Maybe try pecans next time. Also, I used the 9x13 pan recommended; but were kind of thin...so I might try a slightly smaller pan next time & see if I can get them a little thicker, without affecting the gooey light texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
496 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
My vote is 3 stars--these are so sweet they make your teeth hurt. Also, these aren't as thick as I'd like. Hubby didn't think they were too sweet, but agreed they could be thicker, so his vote is 4 stars. Between us, this is a 3-1/2 star brownie--merely average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
For some time, I've been on a quest for a recipe for a recipe for the perfect brownie--chewy and fudgy. Recently I made the Barefoot Contessa's "Outrageous Brownies" and another recipe called "Supernatural Brownies," which was featured in the New York Times. While both of them were tasty, Brooke's brownies surpassed them. I would like to add that I didn't alter anything in this recipe. I did have to bake them a little longer than the recipe stated and was concerned about over baking them, but they turned out perfectly. The corners (which I usually don't like) were especially delicious and had a nice chewiness to them. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks, Brooke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Delicious! These are dense and rich! If you don't like a sweet, fudgy brownie, don't make these. Most of the lower ratings were due to people decreasing the amount of sugar. If you want a 5 star brownie, use all 3c. of sugar. If you want a 3 star recipe, decrease your sugar...its that simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
My family is a brownie family...and my husband said these are the best brownies he has ever had! I usually make the ones from a box, and he said these are far better. They were really fudgy and soft. I coated the chocolate chips in a little flour before putting them in the batter so they wouldn't fall to the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
These brownies are incredible! Rich chocolate flavor and oh so chewy - just the way I like them. (I followed the suggestion to use half brown sugar the first time and it was very good, but it was even better with regular sugar. I decreased the salt to 1/2 teaspoon and added 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda to give it that thin brownie shell on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Worth the hype! Even better the next day. I followed others' suggestions and used 1 c. each brown and white sugars. Since the brownies were for adults, I added 1 tsp. almond extract and 1 c. 60% cacao bittersweet chocolate chips for a more sophisticated taste. These are so moist and delicious--I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I've tried several brownie recipes from this site and I've found my favorite. Amazing. In case you're interested, subing plain yogurt for the half the butter works wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,566) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States