Bromley Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I love honey but quantity given is too much. I also used 1/4 cup plain yoghurt,well blended together with a fork. Red vinegar is a nice touch. There are as many recipes for slaw as there are for potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. My husband and I are huge fans of honey, and we've been using it in place of refined sugar as much as possible. The honey in this recipe gives it that little something extra that makes it better than any other coleslaw I've ever had. I needed to use up half of a bag of coleslaw mix I had left over from another recipe, so I used the ingredients I had on hand to make the recipe. I used red wine vinegar, and didn't add the celery seed or onion just because I didn't have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Very simple and easy to make. I LOVE coleslaw and this is very tasty! I too adjusted the amount of celery seed to 1 1/2 teaspoons and added 2 teaspoons of sugar. I might cut back on the amount of onions next time to 1/2 of a bunch. I am serving it with our spare ribs at dinner tonight. I like to let salads sit and rest in the fridge to enhance the blended flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I think that this recipe is just ok. I did like the mayo and honey flavor better than just the sugary flavor of regular coleslaws but this recipe was very sweet and needed less honey. I did have to add vinegar to cut the sweet flavor a bit and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tershme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Excellent coleslaw recipe. The green onions and honey both add a good flavor. I'm on a diet so I used half the dressing recipe and it was enough. I also used light mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Great recipe! We aren't mayo eaters in this house, so substituted Miracle Whip. Still had a great flavor with a little zip. Loved that this recipe calls for honey instead of a ton of white sugar! Didn't care for the onions in the slaw, but it could've been because mine we a little strong. Next time I'll leave them out! Overall a terrific recipe that I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This was ok but I won't make again. It had way too much celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This was ok. Out of several slaws I made on evening for a fish fry this was by far the least favorite all around. Like I said it was just ok for a slaw that was a bit different from the usual slaws you get at restaurants. There was plenty left over and we were able to ship it home with one of our single guy friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I used this dressing recipe and added about 1/4 cup of vinegar after I tasted it, since the dressing seemed a tad bland. Vinegar added the zip it needed, but this was good on its own too. I let it sit in the fridge about 1 hour before supper and it was very tasty! I used chinese cabbage, grated carrot, broccoli, and white onion chopped fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bitchin Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Don't know if it was a misprint but 4 tablespoons of celery seed is WAY TO MUCH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniLou
Home Town: Granger, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wabash, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States