Broken Thermostat Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Fabulous! I like spicy foods, so I ramped up the cumin, curry, cayenne and pepper flakes. I used peas instead of the cauliflower, and added an individual can of V8 juice with the carrots and onions, then reduced the water to 1 1/2 c. It was every bit as good as what we get at our local Indian deli. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
My boyfriend has long stated that he does not like curry but went nuts for this recipe. He asks for it on a regular basis. If you're a fan of spicy foods, I would add more red pepper flak and cayenne than what this recipe calls for. For true spicy fans, this curry is a little too mild as is. I substituted chicken stock for the water, double the yams, and used about half the amount of potatoes. I also used canned diced carrots to save time and energy. This is a fabulous recipe that also freezes well. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
my first try at curry. Very yummy. I added a bit more cayanne and red pepper flakes. It was almost too spicy, but our tounges got used to it. My kids liked it too. My husband said it needed meat, of course, although I did think as eating it chicken would be good in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I love this recipe! It's my new favorite! I will make it over and over again. I wouldn't call it "broken thermostat" because it's not too hot, but as the submitter said, it's "mildly spicy." I think I'll add more red pepper flakes next time. Also, I cut this in half and it was perfect. I was wary about the yams--but they were great! I served it over jasmine rice and am thoroughly enjoying it right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Great! I accidentally mistimed the chapatis I made to go with this, so it overcooked a bit and the cauliflower disappeared. Turned out to be a great mistake--my finicky husband loved it...and he hates cauliflower. This is a keeper. The spices were just right for us and we chose to add salt at the table. Served it with plain yogurt, jalapeño, and cilantro. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This was really good and easy to make. I did mine in the slow cooker and had it on low for the day. The only thing I would advise if doing in slow cooker is cut back on the water a little bit. I liked how it came out, but was informed that while the taste was right on, it was a little soupy for how the dish is supposed to be. The flavours were wonderful. I had to buy a few of the spices since I have never made indian quisine before and have never used them. Definately worth the small investment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Very delicious but still very mild. I doubled the amount of spices suggested but still found it a bit on the bland side. Great recipe though...I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Found this thru a search looking to use some yams. Used fresh romas instead of canned and instead of water I used a box of chicken broth that was seasoned with coconut and coriander. Added chickpeas and green peas. For the curry powder I used 1 t mild and 1 t HOT. In the end I added another t HOT, just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Found this recipe using the ingredient search. I did not have a yam but a lot of cauliflower and had crushed tomatoes instead of diced. I think it worked out well and enjoyed the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This was pretty good. It was missing something so I added a bit of salt and some raisins from Trader Joe's (jumbo raisin medley). I served this with a seared salmon curry dish from this site, homemade naan from this sire and tofu/garbanzo beans with a masala sauce and mango chutney. yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APHRODITEANDVINNY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States