Broken Thermostat Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This was really good and easy to make. I did mine in the slow cooker and had it on low for the day. The only thing I would advise if doing in slow cooker is cut back on the water a little bit. I liked how it came out, but was informed that while the taste was right on, it was a little soupy for how the dish is supposed to be. The flavours were wonderful. I had to buy a few of the spices since I have never made indian quisine before and have never used them. Definately worth the small investment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This was pretty good. It was missing something so I added a bit of salt and some raisins from Trader Joe's (jumbo raisin medley). I served this with a seared salmon curry dish from this site, homemade naan from this sire and tofu/garbanzo beans with a masala sauce and mango chutney. yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aphrodite Sauser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Found this recipe using the ingredient search. I did not have a yam but a lot of cauliflower and had crushed tomatoes instead of diced. I think it worked out well and enjoyed the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Great! I accidentally mistimed the chapatis I made to go with this, so it overcooked a bit and the cauliflower disappeared. Turned out to be a great mistake--my finicky husband loved it...and he hates cauliflower. This is a keeper. The spices were just right for us and we chose to add salt at the table. Served it with plain yogurt, jalapeño, and cilantro. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Not bad could use a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
My boys hate it when I add vegetables to a meat curry. Now I make this one as a side dish and find it is eaten first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Needed a little salt to give it more flavor, but my wife and I enjoyed it. (Kids refused to try it since it had cauliflower in it.) Don't know why it's called "Broken Thermostat Curry" though, since I really couldn't taste the peppers at all. Would be inclined to double-up on the cayenne next time. But a good, healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I love this recipe! It's my new favorite! I will make it over and over again. I wouldn't call it "broken thermostat" because it's not too hot, but as the submitter said, it's "mildly spicy." I think I'll add more red pepper flakes next time. Also, I cut this in half and it was perfect. I was wary about the yams--but they were great! I served it over jasmine rice and am thoroughly enjoying it right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States