Broken Glass Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
The only thing wrong is the jello. Use 1 cup hot water and 1/2 cup cold. You will have better results when you combined all. Jello will stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I made this but found the Jello had way too much water as when I went to fold it into the whip cream part it fell apart and looks awful. I think it will taste okay thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
We always called this prizm cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Novelty, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
My Mother made this dish, fabulously, over 40 years ago! I sure wish I had her expertise here, now, because my version of this recipe was a TOTAL DISASTER. I followed it to the letter, but I suspect something gets lost in the communication, . . . not with the original author's talents. It's not too bad-tasting, if you don't mind pouring in into bowls. I suspect the handling of unflavored gelatin is the culprit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
In 2010, I tried an earlier AR version of this recipe. VERY GOOD. Be sure to give the final product plenty of time to completely set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This just wasn't a seller with my family or the company we had over. The jello was pretty but, for the labor involved, the results were disappointing. I would save my efforts for something different than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I have made a similar recipe for many years, but it is called "Broken Glass Salad." It's not really a salad per se because it has a bottom crust made of vanilla wafers (with more crumbled vanilla wafers on top). I think a better name for this recipe would be "Broken Glass Dessert."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I combined this recipe and the one I have had for years and years and this recipe gave me more info on the size of the jello packages to use..so thanks to whoever put this in !!! I made it for my bible study class( I was nervous as I had not used it for years,) and it was a hit and had requests for the recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This is such a pretty dessert or salad (without graham cracker crumbs). Back in the 50s, for large crowds as salad, the cooks used to pour the Jell-O mix into 1# cans, refrigerate until set, punch a tiny hole in the bottom end, slide the Jell-O out, slice in 1 inch increments and then place 1 slice on lettuce on a salad plate. One of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Readfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This recipe was a must for my sister (rip). It was my sister's signature dessert. She was asked to make this for every family event. Did not make a graham cracker topping. Was not needed. But, instead of a 9x13 pan, it was made in a mold, when she needed to unmold it, placed bottom of mold into warm water until it was able to unmold onto a plate. Placed a plate on open side of mold, turned it over to unmold onto the plate. Spectacular! Nobody has attempted to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deviled Jell-O® Eggs

Fun and easy Easter dessert treats.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Iron Cupcake Challenge

Join us in Milwaukee with Allrecipes cook Sandy for the Iron Cupcake Challenge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States