Broiled Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I used just the cooking method with this recipe but used my own bbq sauce. I added some beef bouillon cubes and 2 tablespoons of vinegar to the water. After simmering for 2 hours, I drained and removed as much fat from the beef as I could. I then smothered the meat with my bbq sauce and broiled it. Also added hot sauce just before serving. They turned out very tender and my family LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This is a very easy way to get tender ribs! The only thing I do differently ..instead of broiling them, I finish them on the grill! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Outstanding after the greasy mess I had with trying to just broil beef ribs. As a suggestion you can add carrots and quarter large potatoes 30 minutes to the pot before the ribs are done. Also what a crime to let all that great beef broth go to waste. After ribs are broiled you can add the big old left over bones back to the pot and simmer for a while then strain for some absolutly awesome broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pudd2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Wow-yum! Great to find a recipe that cuts some of the fat and calories out of cooking with short ribs. I was afraid the consistency of ribs would be funky from boiling, but after broiling with sauce they came out fork tender. The sauce was great- good and sticky on the meat. I used boneless short ribs. My husband loved them, too. Will make again, and I am picky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
This was the most god awful recipe I have ever made. First, the bones all fell out after simmering for 2 hours resulting in little blobs of beef in a pot. I decided to go ahead with the recipe and baste and broil the meat. The meat was tender but the "barbeque" sauce was disgusting and unappetizing. I would never, ever make this again nor would I suggest it to anyone ele. Makes me mad that I had to throw away 4lbs of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Melt in your mouth fabulous when I followed a previous reviewers suggestions: add beef bouilion and 2 tsp vinegar to boiling water and use your own sauce. When you do that and follow the instructions in this recipe you end up with ribs that disappear faster than a snowflake on a Georgia sidewalk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I made this recipe for my tailgate party. These are serious tailgaters who compete to see who does the best job. These ribs were a super hit! They are extremely easy to make and come out tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I used stone ground mustard in place of powdered mustard. And, I boiled the short ribs for 4 hours in a slow cooker instead of the dutch oven... they turned out great! Very tender and lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
I have used this particular recipe now on three occassions and find it absolutely delicious. I had an occassion to feed two very fussy eaters and they thoroughly enjoyed it . Thank you Donna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Campbellford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
This recipe was very easy to make and the flavor was good. Next time I am going to increase the sauce. I like my barbeque to be a little wetter. But overall this was a quick, simple nice tasting main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States