Broiled Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I used just the cooking method with this recipe but used my own bbq sauce. I added some beef bouillon cubes and 2 tablespoons of vinegar to the water. After simmering for 2 hours, I drained and removed as much fat from the beef as I could. I then smothered the meat with my bbq sauce and broiled it. Also added hot sauce just before serving. They turned out very tender and my family LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
It was okay, nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Buck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
The barbeque sauce was ok, but the meat turned out horribly. I was so excited about this one too, because my husband loves short ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
This was the most god awful recipe I have ever made. First, the bones all fell out after simmering for 2 hours resulting in little blobs of beef in a pot. I decided to go ahead with the recipe and baste and broil the meat. The meat was tender but the "barbeque" sauce was disgusting and unappetizing. I would never, ever make this again nor would I suggest it to anyone ele. Makes me mad that I had to throw away 4lbs of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
I added vinegar, extra mustard powder, worch.sauce, Carolina Treat barbeque sauce & red pepper flakes to the sauce because I found it entirely too sweet and without kick. Next time I would cut the molasses a lot. I also like pork barbeque a lot better than beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
My husband liked this so much he even ate the leftovers the next day! (not that there were very many!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
Having never made shortribs before, I was flying blind on this one. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out great! Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Very easy to prepare and excellent flavor. Will definitely fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This was GOOD. Had a little extra catsup left so used about 1/8 to 1/4 c extra. We used ground Arbol chile powder, instead of typical chile powder, and got a nice, light, "bite" as a result. Meat fell off the bone! Wife and I both love it. Will certainly do it again. Whenever we can get good ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This is a very easy way to get tender ribs! The only thing I do differently ..instead of broiling them, I finish them on the grill! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States