Broiled Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Loved these ribs. I didn't have all the ingredients for the sauce so I just used bottled barbecue sauce and added a little brown sugar, ketchup and garlic. My husband loved it, but even better my absolutely picky three year old asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Oh my God... soooo good. I loved this cooking method- so easy and the texture of the short ribs was just perfect. I did take the advice of other reviewers used 1/2 water, 1/2 beef broth and 2 Tbsp of vinegar (I used cider vinegar) for the simmering liquid. I also used my own spicy barbecue sauce. It was out of this world. My boyfriend commented that it was restaurant quality... I don't get sick of hearing that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Absolutely awesome! Thank you for sharing! Our ribs came out "melt in your mouth" and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
yummy. I made mine with bone less prok ribs and boiled it on the stove instead of dutch oven, and i covered it with water and 2 tbl of vinger and beef broth. cooked it for a hour in half just tell the meat was falling apart. Family LOVED!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
My family really loves this recipe. I boil the ribs in one can of beer and enough water to cover them for about 20min (so that they are not completely cooked through, I fine that is more than enough for boneless ribs) and then I broil them as directed. They come out juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Outstanding after the greasy mess I had with trying to just broil beef ribs. As a suggestion you can add carrots and quarter large potatoes 30 minutes to the pot before the ribs are done. Also what a crime to let all that great beef broth go to waste. After ribs are broiled you can add the big old left over bones back to the pot and simmer for a while then strain for some absolutly awesome broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pudd2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I tried this recipe exactly the way it was given and it was wonderful! My husband said it was the same as going to a nice BBQ restaurant and ordering theirs. I boiled them the night before and just refrig them, then the next night I took the out and made the sauce and it was a quick week night meal. Very very good recipe. I did use mild brer rabbit molasses, not the original, if that even made any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was awesome. So easy I didn't even defrost my ribs. I did use my own BBQ sauce, but this time i'm going to try their recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipe is easy to make. I was a "Camp Cook" and made them for hungry men who all loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I gave this 5 stars because I'm a beginning cook. 1) Used a crock pot. I simmered 6 beef short ribs on high for 1 hour then reduced to low for another 4, another 2 or 3 would've done but I was running errands that day. I removed the ribs with tongs and poured all the sauce on top and broiled for 15 mins. They were very tender and very tasty! 2) I like alot of sauce. The recipe for this sauce seemed sufficient for 6 small short ribs. I think if I would've cooked 4 lbs of short ribs, I would need to at least double the recipe. That doesn't take away from the tastiness. I loved that I made my own sauce and I could even taste a small zing of lemon. Pretty cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States