Broiled Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
OMG!!!! So delicious and easy to make. I made my own sauce with honey, pineapple preserve, and bbq sauce, and hot sauce. Will do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corkie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
These turned out absolutely amazing! Only broiled them about 10 minutes. Really have to keep an eye on them to make sure they don't burn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
The short ribs were great cooked in this manner. They were very tender, but I did use a vey hot grill to get a crust on the meat instead of the broiler. Like some of the other reviewers stated, I used the last thirty minutes or so of the meat simmering to cook some new potatoes. Can't wait to eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I love short ribs and I like them pretty simple without a bunch of sauce so this was perfect. I put them in the crock pot on low with beef broth and garlic for 4 1/2 hrs. I didn't use much of the sauce because I love the flavor of the ribs themselves. I broiled for about 5-7 min to crisp up. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
These were great! I followed the recipe as written, though used a regular stock/pasta pot to boil the meat. Such quick & easy prep. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I tried this recipe last night, I did read some of the reviews and took some advice. I boiled in water and beef stock, but only for an hour. I added a pinch of red pepper flakes and a couple dashes of soy sauce to the BBQ sauce. Very very very good - exact sweetness I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Oh my goodness this was soooooo good. I wasn't sure it would turn out okay because I had to make adjustments based on what I had in my kitchen. I searched Allrecipes as well as googling to try to get answers to my questions, with no luck. So I had to cross my fingers and hope it worked out. I wanted to pass on to anyone in the same dilemma that certain substitutions worked just fine for me. I didn't use beef short ribs, but instead went with pork spare ribs. I don't own a dutch oven so used my cheap crockpot for the same amount of time on low. I did have to turn the ribs halfway through since they weren't completely submerged. Lastly, I used maple syrup instead of molasses, which probably resulted in thinner sauce, but it was still very good. Hope my tale helps and thanks to Donna for such a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was such a fabulous tasting dish! My husband just drooled over every bite. The 2 things that I did differently is that I took the advice of another user and added vegetable bouillon (I would of added beef but didn't have any) while the ribs simmered and I added 1/2 tsp and a pinch of cayenne pepper for a nice kick. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tx_NP3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
So, friends gave me some shortribs, and I've never cooked them before. This recipe looked pretty good, so I tried it. I'm not really sure what a dutch oven is, but I followed others advice and used my crockpot. I covered the ribs in water and set it on low for 4 hours. Made the sauce, but didn't have any garlic powder, so I used fresh garlic minced. It was delicious! I probably broiled them for about 10 minutes, 5 on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Easy and tangy and made my baby smile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States