Broiled Sesame Cod Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
For all of the flavorful ingredients, I was extremely disappointed by how bland the fish was. I normally try to offer suggestions or ideas to improve when I find something I don't care for, but we couldn't come up with a way to fix it. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Fast, needs more flavor. Would recommend stronger herb with the cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Koganei, Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This has got to be one of the best fish recipes I have tried. I didn't quite follow the recipe 100% but I did use all of the ingredients. I am not a fish person nor do i like to cook fish because i normally can't stand the smell but i could barely taste the fish in this. My 6 year old daughter ate every last bit of hers & so did I without grimacing one bit. I will definately be using this recipe again. I also didn't have any issues with broiling it. Given i did have to do it for longer than 10 minutes but it still came out great. So quick & easy to make. I haven't been this satisfied with a meal in a very long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarac3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I tried this out. The fish was okay, but the sesame seeds gave it an odd taste to me. Maybe I didn't toast them long enough, I'm not sure. We ate it but I probably won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I melted the butter, and added the rest of the sauce ingredients, and allowed it to sit for an hour or so, pan sauteed the cod a couple of minutes on each side, drizzling with the butter mixture, then placing a lid on top to let it finish cooking with the built up steam. Turned out wonderful, great flavor, very moist. I'm guessing the broiler would work too, although I would be paying close attention to the heat. Nothing worse than overcooked fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
took me twice as long as needed to cook and was very bland! Not even feeling the need to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Did not turn out well broiling. The top was burned and the rest was undercooked after 10 min. What I would do next time is prepair the fish like the recipe says but bake it at 350 until white and flakes easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Huntington

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was very boring. Edible, but boring. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
The lime & tarragon really brighten this fish up. It was quick & simple to prepare with ingredients already on hand. My husband is not a fish lover, but said he would eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
i didnt think the tarragon was good here. it didnt fit the flavor profile and it isnt meant to be "broiled". i will try again omitting the tarragon as I feel the sesame seed/butter/lemon combo was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Broiled Parmesan-Lemon Tilapia

Quick and easy tilapia fillets are broiled with a creamy Parmesan crust.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States