Broiled Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I actually pan-fried my pork chops with the sauce, and the doneness was perfect. Pan-frying, especially for beginners, is the easiest way to ensure that the pork is not overdone (you can poke at the meat to feel when it's cooked). I also marinated the chops with some of the sauce for half-an-hour before frying it - don't leave it marinating for too long, or the vinegar will denature the meat. Changes to sauce: cut back the ketchup a little, double the Worcestershire sauce and halve the vinegar, add more brown sugar (this cuts down on the sourness and helps the sauce to caramelise and become sticky). Make more sauce, you'll find it disappearing as you baste. You may want to fry some garlic before adding the chops. This sauce is reminiscent of a bbq sauce, as others have pointed out, but it's lighter and doesn't smother the meat like bbq sauce can. With the changes, it's superb with pork. I'm definitely noting it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Absolutely wonderful! I have been looking for a new way of cooking pork chops! I used boneless pork chops. I did not have any vinegar so I used lemon juice instead and added garlic salt to taste. I also prefer to do things the easy way so I threw the chops in the crock pot, poured the sauce over them, set the temp to high and let it cook for about 4 1/2 hours. They came out so tender that we could cut then with a fork and one chop (that was thinner) actually fell apart in the crock pot. When we finished them up I was sad that we did not have more! I would give this one more than 5 stars if I could. Deffinantly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I used the thick pork chops from Costco and followed the directions exactly. We really enjoyed these...especially my extremely picky 9 year old son. We will definately be making this again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
This was not that good. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts and cooked them in a grill pan basting with the sauce. The sauce is pretty bland and the taste of chili powder is not appetizing in this. My husband did not care for this either. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
I was a little disappointed after reading all the great reviews! Unless i did something wrong. I basted every 3 minutes & did this a total of 5 different times (till the juices ran clear) Mine came out burnt, I moved them down & didnt place directly under broiler after the 3rd time.. They were o.k. But NOT fast like ppl said...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I made these for dinner tonight and they came out very well. My older brother, who is a notoriously picky eater and rarely will try anything I make, ate two pork chops! I consider that a definite sign of success. I was a little skeptical about the recipe after reading other reviews, but was very pleased with the way they turned out. Very simple and easy to prepare. I didn't have any paprika OR chili powder, so I used cayenne and parsley instead. I also substituted 1/3 of the ketchup for BBQ sauce after reading other reviewers' complaints. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
We thought these were really good. Even my son thought they were good (and that is saying something). I cooked them on the grill instead of broiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This is a definite personal taste recipe. My family and I are not huge fans of barbeque so this recipe is not for us. However, if you really like barbeque (and more importantly barbeque sauce) then you'll probably really like this recipe. The pork turned out really tender - a first that I've encountered! That was really great! I wanted to avoid the "too ketchupy" taste that others wrote of so I substituted 1/4 c. barbeque sauce for a 1/4 c. ketchup. It actually turned out well, my family just doesn't like barbeque. Anyway, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
I think this had a little too much ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Very good!! I used a little more brown sugar than the recipe suggested and apple cider vinegar. This is a quick and easy I can wait to try it with chicken! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bensenville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States