Broiled Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This was a very easy recipe. But I agree it tasted too ketchupy..like spaghetti o's. The sauce is a perfect base for a true BBQ sauce and the next time I make this I will be putting a texas twist on the sauce. This is the first recipe I have tried at this site and I am impressed. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thepennyblack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Followed the recipe, but cooked the chops on the BBQ grill instead and slopped on plenty of sauce. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Although my 5 year old and husband loved this, I thought it was just okay. It wasn't sweet or tangy enough, it just tasted like water and ketchup on pork. But, since my daughter ate the entire thing, I have to rate it at least a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This is a GREAT marinade. Not too spicy, but bountiful in flavor. This also works great on steak and burgers. I have since added it to my permanent recipe collection. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I felt this recipe was o.k... It tasted a bit too ketchuppy, so i would reduce the amount of ketchup added. Also, I might add a bit more chili powder. I did this in a casserole dish in the oven under aluminum foil and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
These are really good... we all loved them and you get your exercize in making this on a gas stove :) its in our keep box...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I loved this, but I made a few changes: used 1/4 c. ketchup, 1/4 c. BBQ sauce, 1 c. water (we like a lot of gravy), 1 TBSP brown sugar, and a bit of honey. I marinated my boneless pork loin chops for 1/2 hour, softened some onion slices with butter on my pan, cooked the chops right on the pan and I added the sauce. When they were cooked (which was pretty fast), I removed them from the pan, and thickened the sauce with 2 TBSP of cornstarch dissolved on a bit of water, for an excellent gravy. Sounds like a lot of work, but it really wasn't! We all loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AURIE81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This was an excellent sauce for the pork chops....had just enough zing to it. Better than using just bbq sauce. I did double up on the liquid so I could pour more of it on the chops. I'd definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I actually pan-fried my pork chops with the sauce, and the doneness was perfect. Pan-frying, especially for beginners, is the easiest way to ensure that the pork is not overdone (you can poke at the meat to feel when it's cooked). I also marinated the chops with some of the sauce for half-an-hour before frying it - don't leave it marinating for too long, or the vinegar will denature the meat. Changes to sauce: cut back the ketchup a little, double the Worcestershire sauce and halve the vinegar, add more brown sugar (this cuts down on the sourness and helps the sauce to caramelise and become sticky). Make more sauce, you'll find it disappearing as you baste. You may want to fry some garlic before adding the chops. This sauce is reminiscent of a bbq sauce, as others have pointed out, but it's lighter and doesn't smother the meat like bbq sauce can. With the changes, it's superb with pork. I'm definitely noting it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Very simple. Almost like using a bbq sauce - very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States