Broiled Herb Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I have been looking for recipes that I could use pure olive oil instead of butter. My husband is trying the Mediterranean Diet, so I've been looking for ways to cut the butter out AND still having a favorful meal. What I changed: used 1/4 cup olive oil instead of butter. I didn't have boneless chicken breast so the bake time increased. I also covered pan with foil. I think that really help keep the chicken moist. Thank you very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Read reviews so I wrapped chicken in foil & put under the broiler. Some butter must have leaked out so as I watched, within two minutes of putting chicken in, smoke and actual flames in oven. Shut off oven but kept chicken in it. A half hour later took it out and it was cooked thoroughly and very moist and yummy! Won't do it again as the flames scared me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
People: The ONLY reason that chicken is dry is because it is OVERCOOKED. Doesn't matter how it is cooked or what is applied to it, if you take it much past 165 degrees, it WILL be dry. Check the USDA's website for recommended temps for all meats... and use an instant-read thermometer! Now, that said, this recipe is nice, with a good herby flavor to the chicken, but didn't knock my socks off. It did smoke a little, so I lowered my broiler temp and also the rack. I served it with buttered sesame noodles and green beans with almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This recipe is similar to one I've been using for over 40 years. Instead of mixing butter and herbs and then broiling the chicken. I melt the butter, add herbs, then marinate the chicken for a few hours, then place on foil-lined pan and bake at 375 degrees for 45 min to 1 hr. Absolutely great for a crowd, just increase chicken, etc. to fit the number of diners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanacooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I used boneless skinless breasts and took advice to "tent" them to keep juices in. I used sliced white onions on top. The garlic and herbs were Great! The chicken was a titch dry still, but my husband and I were happy. I covered it completely for 20 min. and broiled it for 7 minutes. Pretty and tasty. Thank you for this simple recipe (without cheese or cans of soup!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Nothing too special, just herby chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieLC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I've found the key to baking and broiling chicken and not having it dry out is to create a "roof" for the chicken by adding your herbs and garlic and then laying another vegetable over top; I always use onions. If you top the whole thing with a tad of olive oil and a couple drops of worchestershire, the onions will caramelize and will also let their juices soak into the chicken. Comes out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Emily
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Even with the butter the way the chicken is cooked it is too dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Living In: Roswell, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Pretty good, Super easy. Did half butter half olive oil as others suggested and cut slits and let flavors soak in a few minutes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was ok. I used frymama's suggestions regarding the olive oil, and broiled it (tastes great that way). It tastes similar to another recipe I use for garlic chicken, and that one is tastier. I think I may just combine the spices of this one with the original recipe of the garlic chicken and call it a night. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Famous Butter Chicken

See how to make moist, tender breaded and baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States