Broiled Grouper with Creamy Crab and Shrimp Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This was delicious and I did make a few changes. I left out the creole mustard, adding in about 1 1/2 tsp emeril's bayou blast. The crabmeat I used was a fresh, pasteurized product, thus it had no liquid -and therefore wasn't salty, I also used fresh shrimp, instead of a canned product I didn't use the parsley either...this was a great recipe, one that we will be having again soon! For those who couldn't figure out what to do w/ the cream...try reading step 2 in the directions...if you still can't figure out what to do w/ the cream...just face it you probably never will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2002
This was super easy to make and was very very good. I will definitely make again and will pass this recipe on to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
I used this recipe as a special in my restaurant with some small changes, and the feedback was fantastic. My changes were only to add some diced onions and bell peppers to the sauce (Sauteed) and then finish it off with some bread crumbs to brown under the broiler. Great way to get rid of some extra grouper and crab meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
YUM. Oh, don't use flounder though. It turned out WAY to soft for this recipe, but had a great flavor. I thought the flavor was a little on the weak side, so I tripled the cajun seasoning to my liking, and just went ahead and poured the whole 8 oz. container of heavy cream in because it was a little thick for my liking (I wanted the sauce to cover the rice also.) Before I poured on the crab/shrimp mixture, I sprinkled goat cheese over the fish & rice. FANTASTIC. Definately add the cheese for a more dimensional flavor. (If you like goat cheese to begin with of course :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
I would try this it kind of sounds good but what do I do with the cup and a half of heavy cream? After the ingrediants it's never mentioned again. I kind of assume that it goes in the "Creamy Crab and Shrimp Sauce" but I've been wrong before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is a definite keeper! I used catfish instead. I also added a little cornstarch to the sauce to make it creamier. I added a little garlic powder along with the other ingredients for the fillets. Restaurant quality!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
With all the "heavy cream" confusion, I ditched it and went for my healthy favorite, fat-free sour cream. About 3/4 cup stirred in with the seasoning worked nicely. Also, to the sauce, I added some grated garlic (cooked with the butter and mustard) hot sauce, dill, and a dash of worcestershire. This was quite good, although I took someone up on the suggestion of serving it over rice, and wish I wouldn't have taken away from the other flavors. Garlic salt added into the rub will also give the fish more flavor. Thanks for the recipe. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I substituted fat-free evaporated milk for the heavy cream and eliminated the shrimp due to an allergy, and this was still great! Serving the grouper over rice was a perfect way to soak up the creamy crabby sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
I rubbed the fish with olive oil and bronzed it lightly with a blackening seasoning. Then added the butter and cream to a saucepan where i added some off the counter creole seasoning (at least that was what was on the packet) and tossed in a small piece of andoule sausage for flavor. I added the parsley about a minute before it was done to help preserve is body. This was a much better way to combine the flavors. 1 tsp is too little on the seasoning to. keep adding until the flavor suits you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
A definite MUST COOK for those who want to impress family and guests. I substituted Zatarain's Creole Seasoning (a little over a tsp) & didn't add any salt to the sauce besides what is in the Creole Seasoning. Also omitted lemon juice & opted to let my family squirt lemon on top if they preferred. Used uncooked shrimp instead of canned. My family LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAUNLK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loudon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States