Broiled Grouper with Creamy Crab and Shrimp Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Excellent dinner especially when using fresh grouper. Prepare fish with a small amount of olive oil & garlic/herb seasoning and let sit in refrigerator for an hour or so before broiling. A keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
YUM. Oh, don't use flounder though. It turned out WAY to soft for this recipe, but had a great flavor. I thought the flavor was a little on the weak side, so I tripled the cajun seasoning to my liking, and just went ahead and poured the whole 8 oz. container of heavy cream in because it was a little thick for my liking (I wanted the sauce to cover the rice also.) Before I poured on the crab/shrimp mixture, I sprinkled goat cheese over the fish & rice. FANTASTIC. Definately add the cheese for a more dimensional flavor. (If you like goat cheese to begin with of course :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was a very tasty sauce and very easy to make. I seasoned and sauteed bay scallops in a little bit of olive oil and used them in the sauce instead of the crab and shrimp, and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QWEENBEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
excellent recipe. I paired this with some wild rice and "pan-fried asparagus" for hubby's b-day dinner. He thought it tasted like a high end restaurant meal. My son thought it was the best grouper he'd ever had. And we eat grouper alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Excellent!! I love this recipe!! Very easy to make and didn't take too long either. Normally have to tweak the recipes I get off this site but this was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Using only the shrimp, not having crab meat on hand, left this fish moist and flavorful. Clean up was a snap. This worked out well for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is a must-have recipe for anyone who likes seafood. It was delicious and easy to make. I was unable to find creole mustard in my grocery store so i just added more Emerils bayou blast instead. Quick tip: if you are using canned crab meat as opposed to fresh, it is very salty. keep that in mind when flavoring your sauce. I would definitely use this recipe when having friends over for dinner. It has everything you look for as a crowd pleasing dish: different from everyday, full of flavor and spice, interesting ingredients that will make your guests think that this dish was very challenging.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
sweet niblets.... this is off the chain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I substituted fat-free evaporated milk for the heavy cream and eliminated the shrimp due to an allergy, and this was still great! Serving the grouper over rice was a perfect way to soak up the creamy crabby sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Being from Louisiana, I avoid using canned crab and shrimp if I can get fresh. The juices of fresh seafood add so much to the flavor as it cooks or "soaks" in the sauce. I believe they call the "marrying" of the ingredients. Otherwise tis is a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States