Broiled Chicken with Roasted Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
After reading all of the reviews, I decided that I'd have to do something to add some flavor to this dish. So, I cut up the chicken into bite size pieces, and marinated in white cooking wine and a little soy sauce, along with some salt and pepper. After about 20 minutes, I added a few tablespoons of flour to the chicken pieces, and mixed it up. I then sauteed the chicken pieces on a high heat until cooked. Next, I sauteed some green onions and matsutake mushrooms in a separate pan with a tbsp. of olive oil, and a tbsp. of butter, then added the tbsp. of flour, a dash or two of salt, 1/2 cup of skim milk, a 1/2 cup of half and half, and the roasted garlic cloves. Before the sauce came to a boil, it was thickened just right - be sure to make the sauce on a really low heat, so that it does not come to a boil, otherwise it will turn out too thick. Lastly, I spooned the sauce mixture over the chicken, and it was ready to eat. In the end, I think it turned out pretty good, a little time consuming, so not something I'll make on a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Wasn't crazy about the chicken but I do like the sauce and have used that again on veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
First off I will say that that method of cooking chicken is fabulous. It came out so tender you could barely tell that you were eating a piece of chicken. I changed up the sauce quite a bit. I suspected that it would be bland even with the garlic, so I sauteed 2 shallots and some crimini mushrooms in butter and set it aside just in case. When I made the sauce, I added the flour before the milk in order to make a roux so the flour wouldn't be chunky. Then I used 1/2 cup half-and-half and 1/2 cup nonfat milk. I also used the whole head of garlic. The sauce was still incredibly bland. I added more parmesan, threw in some pecorino romano cheese, the shallot/mushroom mixture, and some salt and pepper. I also added a little bit of the wine from the cooked chicken. It came out pretty good. I'd make it again, but probably only once every few months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Very yummy. I enjoyed cooking the entire garlic head! It was my first time doing so - I thought it was somewhat tedious getting the garlic out of the head afterward, but hey, the end result was the same! The sauce was a hit in my household, kinda thought it was a bit grainy but overall very good. I liked the broiled chicken! Will definitely do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
As written, I think it would need a little bit more zing to make it sing. I had to make some changes based on ingredients on hand and w/that it was one of the best dishes I have ever prepared. I only hope I can remember what I did for next time. **It takes longer than 20 minutes to roast garlic to make it golden brown. I have a garlic roaster and it took double time. Only had legs so threw those in oven w/the white wine and s/p, Old Bay. Covered and baked while the garlic was roasting. Doubled the amt. of cheese and shredded both parm. and romano. Sauteed onions in 1 tbsp. butter, 1tbsp. olive oil and added a couple of chopped romas, tsp fine herbs, and in lieu of 1 cup milk, used the wine from the chicken w/milk to make 1 cup. Wine I used was sweet so it made the sauce too sweet so squeezed half a lemon and about 1/2 cup sour cream. Made a flour slurry using some of the hot wine liquid and added to mixture to thicken. The house smells wonderful and I wish it were not so fattening because I could eat the whole thing. Serving over linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Well, nobody else has mentioned this problem, so I guess I did something wrong: I could not get the flour to blend into the milk and butter. It started off as big thick lumps, and though I stirred and stirred, it made the sauce grainy. I should have followed my instincts and made a roux, then added the milk bit by bit. The end result was ok but nothing outstanding - I added more cheese because it was rather bland - and certainly not worth the unexpected effort. I won't be making this again. Thanks anyway. (PS, I roasted my garlic for just under an hour)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This recipe is so good! Even my toddler enjoys it! I added crimini mushrooms to the sauce and it tastes just like something I've had at a restaurant (even regular button mushrooms were great in this recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I made this for my boyfriend, mom and sister and they loved it. I used half and half low fat instead of milk and added wine in the sauce. I combined this with parmesan asparagus from this site. My boyfriend thought asparagus from the can was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Very good, it does keep the chicken nice and juicy, and the flavor is wonderful!! I made it for dinner for my girlfriend, and she loved it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
Not bad, but not great either. Overall, I thought it was a little bland. It's a good alternative to a "heavy" cream sauce, but I felt it was missing something. I might make it again and play with some different seasonings. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States