Broiled Chicken with Roasted Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
After reading all of the reviews, I decided that I'd have to do something to add some flavor to this dish. So, I cut up the chicken into bite size pieces, and marinated in white cooking wine and a little soy sauce, along with some salt and pepper. After about 20 minutes, I added a few tablespoons of flour to the chicken pieces, and mixed it up. I then sauteed the chicken pieces on a high heat until cooked. Next, I sauteed some green onions and matsutake mushrooms in a separate pan with a tbsp. of olive oil, and a tbsp. of butter, then added the tbsp. of flour, a dash or two of salt, 1/2 cup of skim milk, a 1/2 cup of half and half, and the roasted garlic cloves. Before the sauce came to a boil, it was thickened just right - be sure to make the sauce on a really low heat, so that it does not come to a boil, otherwise it will turn out too thick. Lastly, I spooned the sauce mixture over the chicken, and it was ready to eat. In the end, I think it turned out pretty good, a little time consuming, so not something I'll make on a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Wasn't crazy about the chicken but I do like the sauce and have used that again on veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
First off I will say that that method of cooking chicken is fabulous. It came out so tender you could barely tell that you were eating a piece of chicken. I changed up the sauce quite a bit. I suspected that it would be bland even with the garlic, so I sauteed 2 shallots and some crimini mushrooms in butter and set it aside just in case. When I made the sauce, I added the flour before the milk in order to make a roux so the flour wouldn't be chunky. Then I used 1/2 cup half-and-half and 1/2 cup nonfat milk. I also used the whole head of garlic. The sauce was still incredibly bland. I added more parmesan, threw in some pecorino romano cheese, the shallot/mushroom mixture, and some salt and pepper. I also added a little bit of the wine from the cooked chicken. It came out pretty good. I'd make it again, but probably only once every few months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Very yummy. I enjoyed cooking the entire garlic head! It was my first time doing so - I thought it was somewhat tedious getting the garlic out of the head afterward, but hey, the end result was the same! The sauce was a hit in my household, kinda thought it was a bit grainy but overall very good. I liked the broiled chicken! Will definitely do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
As written, I think it would need a little bit more zing to make it sing. I had to make some changes based on ingredients on hand and w/that it was one of the best dishes I have ever prepared. I only hope I can remember what I did for next time. **It takes longer than 20 minutes to roast garlic to make it golden brown. I have a garlic roaster and it took double time. Only had legs so threw those in oven w/the white wine and s/p, Old Bay. Covered and baked while the garlic was roasting. Doubled the amt. of cheese and shredded both parm. and romano. Sauteed onions in 1 tbsp. butter, 1tbsp. olive oil and added a couple of chopped romas, tsp fine herbs, and in lieu of 1 cup milk, used the wine from the chicken w/milk to make 1 cup. Wine I used was sweet so it made the sauce too sweet so squeezed half a lemon and about 1/2 cup sour cream. Made a flour slurry using some of the hot wine liquid and added to mixture to thicken. The house smells wonderful and I wish it were not so fattening because I could eat the whole thing. Serving over linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Well, nobody else has mentioned this problem, so I guess I did something wrong: I could not get the flour to blend into the milk and butter. It started off as big thick lumps, and though I stirred and stirred, it made the sauce grainy. I should have followed my instincts and made a roux, then added the milk bit by bit. The end result was ok but nothing outstanding - I added more cheese because it was rather bland - and certainly not worth the unexpected effort. I won't be making this again. Thanks anyway. (PS, I roasted my garlic for just under an hour)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This recipe is so good! Even my toddler enjoys it! I added crimini mushrooms to the sauce and it tastes just like something I've had at a restaurant (even regular button mushrooms were great in this recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I made this for my boyfriend, mom and sister and they loved it. I used half and half low fat instead of milk and added wine in the sauce. I combined this with parmesan asparagus from this site. My boyfriend thought asparagus from the can was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Very good, it does keep the chicken nice and juicy, and the flavor is wonderful!! I made it for dinner for my girlfriend, and she loved it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
Not bad, but not great either. Overall, I thought it was a little bland. It's a good alternative to a "heavy" cream sauce, but I felt it was missing something. I might make it again and play with some different seasonings. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States