Broiled Chicken with Roasted Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This was absolutely wonderful. My husband said it tasted like something gourmet!! First time he's ever said that! Anyway I had fresh garlic on hand so I used that and while washing off the dirt I slipped it out of the skin. I didn't know if that was going to ruin it or not but it didn't. I then rubbed in oil, wrapped in foil and put it in the oven for 20 minutes and it came out perfect! I ended up just slicing it into little chunks. I didn't use parsley and just put the cheese in it until I thought it looked like enough. I also used heavy cream instead of milk because I had it on hand and wanted to use it. Probably why it tasted so good. A lot of people said that this was too bland and so I decided to cook it in butter, season all, and pepper right on the stove. And let me tell you... it turned out awesome! Served it with broccoli and bow tie pasta. This is going to be used a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
My husband had cooked some chicken breasts in butter and garlic and then told me to finish dinner! HA! So, I ran in and typed in Garlic Sauces and found this and it just looked lovely. So, I made it and it was great. I too put the chicken over brown rice and then covered it all in this sauce. I made the sauce as directed, using FRESH parmesan cheese, and whole wheat flour (rather than white flour), and since I didn't have any cloves of garlic, I used a full Tbsp. of pre-minced refrigerated garlic. It was great. As directed, it was plenty for myself, my husband and my 3 young boys (ages 7, 5, and 1 1/2). I think I'll play around with it a little, but its yummy as is too. Thank you so much! You saved dinner tonight! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPlants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This dish was amazing! I did make some changes however. #1...I "fried" the chicken breasts in a little olive oil and butter, and seasoned them with dried oregano, garlic powder, salt & pepper. I didn't think that baking them with just white wine would taste the way I wanted it. #2...I doubled the sauce recipe (it wouldn't have been nearly enough for me, my husband & 17mo old son if I hadn't) and used 1/2 whole milk and 1/2 heavy cream, which made it more fattening, but creamier, I think. I also minced the garlic before adding it to the sauce. I served the sauce over the chicken and some brown rice. It was delicious. The only thing other thing I would say is that the sauce does needs salt added. Other than that it is simple, easy and delicious. My husband & son loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I loved this recipe! I added some mushroom and red pepper to the dish and i used soy milk because i was cooking for someone who is lactose intolerant. Still the recipe turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Very good! We love garlic so I used a large clove. I thought it was a fairly simple dish with alot of flavor. Might add green onions to sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I started my evening tired and not sure what to make for dinner. I ran into this recipe and decided to try it out. I am happy I did! This is the easiest sauce recipe I think I have ever come across. Needed a change on a typical school/week night. If you are tired and dont want to put much into a GOOD dinner, you should try it. I thought this was a good recipe. I did not roast my garlic however. I decided to just mince it because I like the strong garlic flavor. I added some salt, parsley flakes for color and a few twists from the pepper mill. I also decided to add some pinenuts for a little bit of crunch and flavor. I served this sauce over some baked chicken thighs, white rice and salad. It was good...I will make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Funny that I didn't think this was bland, when it's usually me who thinks stuff is more bland than everyone else. :-) I made it as is and liked it quite well. (Though it didn't wow me or anything.) This is the first time I've attempted to roast garlic and didn't think this turned out too well. I tried to time this all out and had to just dump the garlic into the sauce before it over-cooked. Now I see Caroline (love the cats) says it won't roast in 20 minutes. Well, I thought that was a pain anyway, so maybe I'll just reduce the amount and make it an unroasted garlic sauce. LOL. I put the chicken on rice and poured the sauce over everything. It's definitely nicer looking than "bare" chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. Pretty bland, and I don't want to work out a bunch of changes to make it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brett
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
My girlfriend made me this meal after a long day at work and it hit the spot! I do agree that it was a little bland but I usually find this to be a positive since you may cater it to your own tastes. She did this by adding sauteed red peppers which made it perfect. Almost ate the leftovers while doing dishes! Can't wait to eat it for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I love this sauce, and I use it over fish quite often. Nice subtle garlic flavor, not too overpowering because its roasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States