Broiled and Slow-Roasted Butterflied Leg of Lamb With Cumin and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This is the first time I have ever made lamb. I followed the directions and it came out perfect! I didn't have a meat thermometer, so I cut the meat to check, and left in the oven until it was pink in the center (my piece was slightly larger, so it took about 1 hour and 30 minutes to cook). This was super delicious, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is just fabulous! I am going to try this paste on other proteins. I will try it on chicken maybe using some rosemary. Be careful not to overcook your lamb. I got the last butterflied leg and it was smaller than this recipe specified. So do check the temp after 30 minutes and stop it at 140 deg. This helped to make our Easter dinner a huge success. Thank you Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I also cut up some potatoes into small chunks and added them to the bottom of the roasting pan with some extra marinade. After I took the roast out and let it rest, I put the potatoes back in and upped the oven temp to 450 for about 15 minutes - they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I added some stock to the baking pan so that the lamb didn't dry out too much during the long cook. Turned out beautifully. Great flavours and so easy for a big group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Delish! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Excellent recipie! Made this for the first time for guests we were having for dinner and it was the hit of the dinner! Flavor was wonderful- cumin/garlic crust was amazing! Definitely will make again. I served with roasted color peppers, eggplant, onion, and carrots sprinkled with fresh herbs at end. Couscous on the side. Also had a yogurt, cucumber, dill, mint, garlic dip on the side which was nice compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Broiling the lam a little really made the difference. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This lamb recipe is great. I did the seasoning mixture as directed except for adding more garlic. I pierced the lamb several times and rubbed the blend into the cuts in hopes of getting the flavor to permeate better as per another reviewer's observations. In the end the cumin wasn't overbearing at all and the flavors went nicely with the meat. It was salty and savory but not overly so. My range's broiler is broken, so I had to modify the cooking a little, but it wound up taking less time. (I used 'bake' at 550F for 8 min/ side in place of broiling and then turned the temp down to 325F. My meat thermometer said it was done after only 30 minutes, but I was using a somewhat smaller leg- just shy of 4lb instead of 4-1/2 to 5 lb.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this few days ago, it was the best leg of lamb I have ever had, and I have been eating lamb all my life. My whole family loved it, they said it was very flavorful. I used a whole head of garlic because we all love garlic, and also threw in some baby yellow, red, and purple potatoes, and some parsnip in the bottom of the pan they absorbed some of the juice and so much flavor from the roast. Great recipe, I will deffinetly make again and again. Thank you... I give it five stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was simply to make and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Chef John’s Roasted Leg of Lamb

See how to make roasted leg of lamb with an herb, garlic, and pomegranate rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States