Broiled and Slow-Roasted Butterflied Leg of Lamb With Cumin and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I followed the directions perfectly. This recipe turned out to be an excellent way to ruin a good piece of meat from my favorite butcher. It turned out tasting like chicken liver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joefarmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ConnieM
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I always cringed whenever I heard we were having lamb for dinner - I hated lamb - period - so I avoided eating it at all costs while growing up and well into my adult life. However, my husband loves it so I decided to give it a try. I found this recipe right here online and gave it a go. I ABSOLUTELY loved it. LOVED it! The recipe was fabulous (although I added plenty more garlic to mine). I took this photo of my first ever pride and joy lamb roast and have served it to guests three times now. They all raved about how delicious, juicy and tender it was. So, I thought I'd share my photo with all of you. I threw the potatoes and carrots in just to add some color to the photo. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
A wonderful dish! Even the kids liked it. I rubbed the "gloop" into the meat the night before and it was wonderful. A great preparation for even a cheap cut of lamb (I was using a leg from Sam's club so not the best quality and this recipe made it taste like $15 a pound lamb!) Tender and juicy - the searing keeps the juices in. I served it with new potatoes and asparagus and got rave reviews from my picky crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
I prepared the recipe according to the directions and ended up enjoying it very much. The lemon juice / broth mixture lightened the earthy taste of the lamb, which some in my family find overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Very tasty. My guests loved it. I seared the lamb on the BBQ then roasted it in the BBQ with the hood down. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I haven't made Lamb before, because my husband doesn't like it. After making this recipe, he said he really liked this particular recipe .. so we'll be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I make this once a year for my husband. We all love it! Even his sister loved this recipe, and she's pretty picky. It is easy and quick. Just make sure not to broil for too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
The lamb was tender and I loved the coating the spices gave, just wish their flavours sunk into the lamb a little more. Maybe if small cuts were made into the meat and the spice mix was stuffed in. All in all it was lovely lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this few days ago, it was the best leg of lamb I have ever had, and I have been eating lamb all my life. My whole family loved it, they said it was very flavorful. I used a whole head of garlic because we all love garlic, and also threw in some baby yellow, red, and purple potatoes, and some parsnip in the bottom of the pan they absorbed some of the juice and so much flavor from the roast. Great recipe, I will deffinetly make again and again. Thank you... I give it five stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I didn't cook this recipe, another person did at the food bank that I work in; for our soup kitchen on Friday. I have eaten leg of lamb, lamb chops, and lamb all of my life at excellent 5 star restaurants and this recipe was delicious. She prepared 4 legs and served over 40 people lunch (which included homemade rice pilaf and a carrot, parsnip, onion vegetable dish with a Dijon butter sauce as accompaniments) and there were only 2 people who didn't like it and they don't like lamb to begin with, there were no leftovers and some of our volunteers didn't eat because we wanted to make sure that all the people who came in could eat.... This recipe is so great that I ran out and bought 2 boneless lamb legs and they are dinner for Sunday night. I do admit that I made a huge mistake and forgot the garlic in the paste-rub. I adore garlic and even have minced garlic in the fridge, I just got so excited that I did everything but that....anyway, I'll let you know how it turns out. 140 degrees will get you a nicely rare leg, don't go to much higher because at 150 it's over done and can taste like leather.... By the way, I like my lamb with a touch of mint jelly, if you can find it, but this is so good that you don't even have to have it. Thank you for an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DYMPLES805

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Chef John’s Roasted Leg of Lamb

See how to make roasted leg of lamb with an herb, garlic, and pomegranate rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States