Broccoli with Poppy Seed Butter and Parmesan Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This broccoli was very good with a few modifications. Because a few people mentioned it was kind of bland, I added extra paprika, salt, pepper, and Parmesan cheese. Also, I tossed the broccoli with the rest of the ingredients and then roasted it in the oven at 350 for about 20 minutes. Even my kids liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
It tasted great. Timing is important here. Make sure you are cooking this right before you are ready to eat. It cools down fairly fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I cooked the broccoli in the microwave as I do 95% of all my vegetables, fresh or frozen. We liked it but would definitely increase the paprika or maybe switch to my stronger Hungarian variety. I also added a little extra cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
excellent i would double the sauce! it is that good. i roasted sesame seeds ( all i had.) i served this with cheese grits and fried catfish. no leftovers. great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
The kids loved the Parmesan cheese flavored broccoli! I cut the amount of butter to 1 T. The cheese, paprika and poppy seeds all adhered to the broccoli with no problem. I omitted the salt and pepper. We will definitely be serving this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I don't usually like steamed broccoli but this was delicious! So simple and so easy to make! Will definately be making this again! Yummy! Made it exactly as is; turned out wonderful! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieBell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was so easy and uber yummy! It's a quick way to add a vegetable to the meal, and who doesn't love something with butter and cheese! 6 minutes of steaming was perfect on my gas stove. The broccoli was al dente and not soggy. This will be a staple in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELIM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This was a very good recipe. I substituted seamme seeds with poppy seed cause that was all I had and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This recipe was good. I like my broccoli cooked a bit more, so cooked it a bit longer. That's just personal preference though. I also doubled the recipe, but should have cut down on the butter a bit. Double the butter was a bit heavy. Overall, a good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
A nice alternative to plain steamed broccoli. My picky two year old ate three servings! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States