Broccoli with Mandarin Oranges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This went well with our homemade Chinese food dinner. I liked the flavors just fine, but I went with honey, not molasses. I believe the flavor of molasses would have been too dark and heavy and we would not have liked it as much. My chief complaint is the sauce did not thicken at all and was far too watery. It seemed like cooking down half of the oranges was a waste and the juice should have sufficed for the orange flavor in the sauce. Also, I did not want to use the full amount of sesame seeds...would've been too much. Would make again, following my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I made the dish in an effort to employ a recent harvest of Mandarin Oranges and Romanesco Broccoli. I served this over long grain brown rice. I liked it and plan to make it again. Pro's: Sauce was so delicious that I was sorry there wasn't more of it. Next time I will double the recipe for the sauce. Con's: The oranges. I tried 'em and I just don't prefer warm or cooked oranges. Next time I will either omit the oranges entirely or add them at the very end and not cook them. But the OJ for the sauce was great. I made a few changes, as follows: 1. Used honey instead of Molasses and added garlic like other reviewer suggested. 2. Added 2 sliced green onions and sauteed with garlic in oil to extract garlic flavor. Next time I will add the onion later in the cooking process as to not cook it too long. 3. For the health of it I used EVOO instead of peanut oil and less than the recipe called for. 4. Used Romanesco instead of broccoli and sauteed for a couple of minutes then added 1/2 C of H2O, covered and steamed for about 5 minutes with the oranges like the recipe calls for. 5. Added slivered almonds along with the sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was really good - more flavorful than I was expecting. I'll definitely make it again, but I might try reducing the molasses a little and possibly adding some garlic. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I am trying this recipe but altering it slightly. Using honey instead of molasses (I feel molasses is far too strong for this), adding a touch of garlic, reducing the amount of peanut oil and am using an asian stirfry frozen veggie mix with soybeans in it to make this a main dish served over brown rice. I am not sure exactly how it will turn out, but having made similar things before, it sounds like a hit. I love using the mandarin oranges as part of the sauce as I don't usually keep orange juice on hand but those I do...this makes it an easy, easy dish to whip up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIRCE9

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Beautiful tasty way to serve this vegetable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Very good, & easy too. I toasted the sesame seeds before adding them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
It was okay, but I didn't feel that the falvours really married well. I don't think I'd make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This was a good recipe. I would make it again. I did use sesame oil instead of the peanut oil. The sauce was a little bit bitter--maybe I cooked it too hot and burned the molasses a little--not sure. Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
Didn't like this dish--the flavors of the sauce don't complement the broccoli--everything felt like it was clashing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
I am not sure why, but ours had a bitter taste to it and no one would eat it. Aside from the bitterness, the flavors blended together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States