Broccoli with Lemon Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
My husband and I both really enjoyed this recipe. It was a nice change to broccoli with cheese sauce. I used two crowns of fresh broccoli that I steamed. While it cooked I melted 1/4 cup of light butter (it has a large water content anyway so I figured it evened out. I then juiced one lemon, added a little cayenne, salt, pepper and garlic. I let this simmer until the water was gone from the butter. I poured this over the broccoli and sprinkled with about a tablespoon of parmesean cheese. The broccoli has a very light lemon taste and was perfect. I will remember this and make again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
My husband, 17 year old son and I liked this- and we're not big broccoli eaters. I used fresh broccoli, steamed it until just done, and then poured on the sauce, stirred, and let it sit for a few minutes. I did not use the full 1/4 tsp cayenne, and I added garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Using frozen broccoli, I ended up with a very soggy, limp vegetable. Maybe it would have been better with fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I didn't use cayanne pepper, instead I used lemon pepper. I cooked both carrots and fresh broccoli. It was very zesty and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Simple and excellent. I had a large lemon, so only used half of its juice - which was a good decision. It was a perfect balance of flavors. A new favorite (except with my 8 y.o. daughter who likes broccoli plain).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This was pretty good. I, too, used fresh broccoli, steamed it and poured the juice over the broccoli. It still needs a little bit something, but I don't know what that is. Maybe I just didn't use enough salt. I can't help thinking a creamy lemon sauce would be good, but I don't know how to make one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Fuore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
So good...a nice twist on plain old broccoli. A quick and easy way to add some delicious color to your plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This did not go over well with my family. A little too sour for us. Nobody would eat after their first piece. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Like Nance, I steamed my broccoli just in water and then poured the sauce over. Everyone loved it and thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This wasn't very good. The flavors didn't mingle well. My husband took one bite and refused to eat anymore of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States