Broccoli with Lemon Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was delicious but the water was unnecessary & prevented the butter from coating the broccoli well. It was pretty spicy too, so the cayenne pepper should be reduced to taste. That said, it was delicious & a big hit at the potluck where I brought it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jhruiz418

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calumet City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Very good. My husband and I do not like broccoli and in a spirit of aiming to eat our five veg a day, we each got a good amount down thanks to this recipe! Not recommended for kids though (too bitter) and I would cut down on the lemon a bit next time or try lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I really liked this recipe. I used fresh broccoli and I think that probably makes a difference. I enjoyed the tartness of the lemon in the sauce. The sauce really isn't a sauce - more like a flavored bath. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Steamed in lemon water and then tossed with butter and seasoning...very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I enjoyed the cayenne pepper, but the lemon was a little over powering. A little too sour, like some others said. It probably depends on how much juice you get out of the lemon. Mine was extremely juicy. Might try it again with less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*Dawn*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
good recipe good flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Had this for dinner this evening. What a nice change from plain cooked broccoli. This is a keeper and I will be making it again and again. Thanks for this recipe. Only thing I did different was used three tbs. of Real Lemon juice as I did not have any fresh lemons on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATWEIGAND
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Didn't care for this AT ALL!! Made EXACTLY per recipe. We found the flavor way TOO lemon-y & too spicy (apparently, too much cayenne for amount of broccoli). Also, the broccoli discolored with the "sauce" to a very unappetizing "dull green/yellow-ish" color! Maybe I'm just mad at myself! I violated one of own personal rules: never try out a new recipe on company -- and unfortunately, none of us found this enjoyable. Sorry, but definately NOT for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Just steam the broccoli and pour some melted butter or margarine with lemon over it. Use fresh broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob-o

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
So sorry but I really thought this was terrible. I cut the lemon juice down and it was still so overbearing. No one in my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States