Broccoli With Lemon Almond Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2003
I made this to accompany strip steaks and Garden Stuffed Baked Potatoes (from this site). Like others suggested, I toasted the almond slices and used less lemon (no zest but I squeezed half a lemon). The end result was phenomenal. The almonds gave the broccoli a woodsy flavor and a nice crunch. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Wonderful, I'll probably do this every time. I toasted the almonds on a pan and crumbled them, omitted the lemon zest and used juice from 1/2 a lemon. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Lightly seasoned with lemon, the absence of garlic was a refreshing change, and I resisted the urge to add it. I measured nothing, just added butter, lemon juice and toasted sliced almonds to accomodate my taste - and skipped the lemon zest altogether. I think it would have been lemon overkill otherwise. To preserve their crunch I added the toasted almonds just before serving, which also proved to be a pretty garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
The theory's nice, but this one is way, WAY too lemony. It covered the rest of the flavors up completely. With a lot less lemon this would be excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
Excellent. Quick, easy, and tasty. I think I will toast the almond slivers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
A good way to make steamed broccoli a little more than just steamed broccoli but I definitely agree with other reviewers in that the butter-lemon ratio was off. This was more like Broccoli with buttery lemon sauce.. I did add the almonds but come to think of it... didn't really notice them at all. It was a tad sour, but I did like it when it just lightly covered the broccoli, the rest of my family ate it, but didn't enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
Yay! Finally a way to prepare broccoli that makes me actually WANT to eat it! The lemon makes it taste so summery, it was great with seafood & rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
A little less lemon juice, toast the almonds and it is 5 stars! Don't overcook the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Great with fish. We loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Although this made a change from plain, steamed broccoli, I don't think I'll try this recipe again. It had way too much lemon flavor (my sister wouldn't even eat it because she thought it was too sour) and not enough almond flavor. Maybe if you added less lemon and a tiny bit of almond extract it might taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States