Broccoli Tofu Pitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I'm vegan so I made the thousand island dressing from scratch using vegan mayo, ketchup, relish, sugar, vinegar, and salt. All in all a yummy twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I cooked this for dinnertonight. I also added some minced garlic green onion and cilantro. I lined the pita bread with fresh spinach and topped it all with ceaser salad dressing. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxanne
Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was surprisingly tasty. My husband who is very picky when it comes to tofu also liked this. I made sure the tofu was crumbled up rather then cubed. I wanted to keep it simple so just added a few spices to the broccoli while it was cooking like garlic and onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This was a good basic recipe. I, like several others, made some changes. I reduced the amount of veg. oil and added sesame oil for flavor. And I used a sesame ginger marinade instead of Thousand Island. You have to make sure you really press the tofu to get the extra fluid out. I will definitely use the recipe again, and I will change it depending on what I have available. Good building block. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I loved these. I used sesame-ginger salad dressing since that's what I had in my fridge, and they turned out really well. Even my wife, a tofu-hater, said these were "pretty good." I think next time I'll add some brown rice for bulk and to stretch the tofu a bit. I also froze and thawed the tofu as someone else suggested, which made very nice crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
This sandwich would probably be ALOT better if you chilled the broccoli and tofu first...but i put it right into the pita, and it ripped a hole in the bottom and the dressing got really watery and didnt have much flavor. I was pretty disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberlee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I needed a quick vegetarian meal for my daughter. Unfortunately I didn't read the reviews for this. It was really quite bland as it was. I will definatly try this again with some of the suggested changes such as garlic and onion...maybe a little green or red pepper. I bet it would be great with flavoured tofu as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Great for the (small) amount of preparation required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Great mix, but quite dry. I had to add lots of extra dressing to moisten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
This recipe was about average. I just made it once and it's not one I would just 'have' to make again. I substituted a creamy italian dressing for the thousand island and left out the pita (low carb diet). It was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States