Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Have been making this soup for a long time. Only changes being that I use leeks and add some hot pepper flakes. Great, easy and healthy - nice to have a soup that does not call for milk products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Having had to re-think my eating habits, I was looking for a broccoli soup recipe that was low in calories. I was skeptical about how it would taste without all the cream and the cheese that's in my favorite recipe from here......but I have to say that this one is not missing on anything.........except the calories. I like my soups a bit chunkier so instead of using a hand blender, I used a pastry cutter to mash it up, and added a dash of worchestershire and a bit more garlic. This one is my favorite now, and I will be using the potatoe as a substitute for a thickener in many other soups from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikski

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
LOVE this. Super easy and a great way to use up extra veggies. I didn't have nutmeg so I used a few other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This is oh so lovely! One potato was perfect for me. I can't imagine how thick it would be if a second potato was added. Not sure why so many people are skipping on the nutmeg. I thought it was a nice touch. Don't go crazy and add a bunch of "extras" to this soup, unless its spices though I didn't think it was needed. It totally defeats the purpose of this being a low calorie soup! A little fresh hot pepper is a nice kick if you want some heat. Oh, and since I'm the only person who seems to do the da** dishes in this house, I just used a potato masher instead of adding the pain of taking apart and cleaning the blender. I started mashing 13 mins into the cooking and allowed the soup to simmer and thicken for another 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was wonderful! I was a little apprehensive about it, but with no reason to be. I loved the flavor and texture. I followed the recipe, except to leave out the nutmeg (I am not a fan) and to add a bit of sage and thyme (per other reviews). Not at all disappointed. Will recommend to friends and family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Jo L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fultonville, New York, USA
Living In: Marion, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Used fresh broccoli (peeled stems), an extra potato, and added 2 cups of water to the broth. I just roughly chopped all the ingredients and threw everything into a pressure cooker - at 15psi for 10 minutes. Served with fresh grated parmesan on top. Fast and DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I bit bland. I added some tarragon as well. Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This soup is healthy, simple yet very delicious! I used fresh broccoli, 1/4 cup of milk at the end of cooking and added some shredded mozzarella cheese and crackers when served it! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Quick,easy, healthy and budget-friendly! What else can you ask for. I use fresh broccoli when it is available. I also use a blend of vegetable broth and chicken broth. Just love this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glace Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This was a good soup - heathy and full of flavor. My only complaint is that since it makes so much you can eat it for a couple of days (there is only 2 of us). By the third day you no longer look forward to eating the soup. Other then that it was good. Tastes healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States