Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Made it exactly the way it said and it was great! I'm a big fan of cream soup but my husband doesn't like to mix cream and red wine so I was forced to find an alternative. It also freezes very well so it's great to have some in the freezer for unexpected guests or for a healthy quick meal or snack for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Changed frozen broccoli to fresh and kept all other ingredients as is including the nutmeg. End result is a very thin soup that tastes like broccoli and chicken broth. Not very appealing. Cannot taste the nutmeg at all. Great if you are the kind of person that eats just because your body needs food and doesn't care about taste. One doesn't need a soup overloaded with creams and cheese, but this is like putting a bunch of grass in the blender. I'll freeze what I have until I figure out what to do with it. Not a repeat recipe. Healthy does not have to mean BLAND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
good. The texture is creamy without any cream- just what I was looking for. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Just made this soup last night. Used frozen broccoli and about 5 1/2 cups of chicken stock. Skipped the nutmeg and added a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes--because I like a little bit of heat with everything. I good sized medium potato thickened it up perfectly for me. I stirred a generous tablespoon of crumbled goat cheese in my soup. Yummy! This recipe will not replace the high caloric and fat cheesy broccoli soup. However, it is a delicious low cal, low fat soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I was looking for a simple, healthy recipe to make after getting my wisdom teeth out, and this fit the bill. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken, and used half frozen and half fresh broccoli. It was a little bland - but that could be because I didn't use nutmeg (I didn't have any on hand). Instead, I served it with red pepper flakes (as another reviewer recommended), and sprinkled a little bit of sharp cheddar cheese on top. Great recipe - will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This soup is great alternative for eating big portions of vegetables without feeling like you just eat and entire tree. Perfect for picky kids, the taste is very good and it has a nice consisteny. I always add a little fresh grated parmesan cheese and pepper but that's me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This soup is very, very bland. I added about 2 lbs of cremini mushrooms sautéed in olive oil and dry sherry, a dash of sherry vinegar, Cajun spices, tabasco, etc before it was even edible. I give it 5 stars for being very healthy, but it was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Used 1 c sweet potatoes instead of white - used vegetable broth instead of chicken - GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Good soup - not terrific but definitely good. Used an extra clove of garlic and added hot pepper flakes while the potatoes were cooking. Used fresh broccoli and cut the stem all the way up til the broccoli flowerettes separated, then cut the stem into small pieces. Cooked the stem pieces with the potato, then pureed it well. Then added half the flowerettes and quickly pureed it, then added the remaining flowerettes and cooked the soup an additional 5min. Be careful cooking the soup after it has been pureed, it can stick and burn in the bottom of the pot. Omitted the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Yummy:) I added a little bit of chilli flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States