Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I tweaked this recipe to get a creamier and more flavorful result. The first thing I did differently was to use fresh broccoli as opposed to frozen. Also, I omitted the nutmeg and used thyme instead. I didn’t have chicken stock, so I used vegetable stock instead. It was finished with heavy cream and parmesan cheese for a creamy touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
really easy and delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This recipe is a good base. I expanded on it a little....I had the chicken broth and also some left over chicken gravy and mashed potato, which was perfect for more flavor and the thickening agent. I love that it was so creamy smooth without any cream! I also added some baby bella mushrooms to the stock which upped the flavor some more. Steamed my fresh broccoli, then used some of the leftover water to stretch the broth, put it all in the vitamix and voila!! silky smooth, awesome flavor, I sauteed some of the baby bella's and some chantrelles to sprinkle of top when I served it. Also, saved a few sprigs of broccoli to place on top...added the nutmeg, just a hint of fresh grated and some thyme from the garden. This was good enough to write home about!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Loved the recipe. It is very similar to an old potato soup recipe I made when first married. Yes as a previous reviewer stated the nutmeg isn't for a nutmeg flavor. It is to enhance the other ingredients. I makes a world of difference in the final outcome of the whole recipe. I did make changes to the recipe for 2 different reasons. 1 is allergies. The other is available ingredients. I skipped the onions because my husband is allergic to them. I also skipped the broth. That was because I didn't have any on hand. Because of that I increased the amount of broccoli by 4 ounces to make sure of plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Well as written its SO BLAND- doctored it up (had to!) and it was very good. Had to add a 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 Tbs garlic powder, 2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp black pepper and 2 triangles of laughing cow light cheese. Couple of tsp shredded parm and it was very palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I cut this in half and used fresh broccoli, but otherwise made it as written. It was quick, easy and absolutely delicious. I don't know why everyone is omitting the nutmeg, you don't really taste it.. it's there to enhance the other flavors, not to take center stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aerisma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Couldn't eat it. I no longer trust the reviews. For more than 10 years I've been trying recipes from this site and many have been excellent--this one was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, I'm not sure that that's what would have made this soup so bland, though. Too bad I doubled the recipe because I had a lot of broccoli. I added about a cup of grated parmesan which kind of improved the flavour, but not by much. Sorry, wouldn't recommend this soup nor make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Yum! Made some subs: fresh broccoli, 1 cup frozen corn, and no onions (had none in the house!). The corn added a little bit of sweetness, which I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
We left ours chunky and added rice to our soup bowls before serving and it was so delicious and very filling. Love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States