Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Just made this soup last night. Used frozen broccoli and about 5 1/2 cups of chicken stock. Skipped the nutmeg and added a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes--because I like a little bit of heat with everything. I good sized medium potato thickened it up perfectly for me. I stirred a generous tablespoon of crumbled goat cheese in my soup. Yummy! This recipe will not replace the high caloric and fat cheesy broccoli soup. However, it is a delicious low cal, low fat soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I was looking for a simple, healthy recipe to make after getting my wisdom teeth out, and this fit the bill. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken, and used half frozen and half fresh broccoli. It was a little bland - but that could be because I didn't use nutmeg (I didn't have any on hand). Instead, I served it with red pepper flakes (as another reviewer recommended), and sprinkled a little bit of sharp cheddar cheese on top. Great recipe - will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This soup is great alternative for eating big portions of vegetables without feeling like you just eat and entire tree. Perfect for picky kids, the taste is very good and it has a nice consisteny. I always add a little fresh grated parmesan cheese and pepper but that's me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This soup is very, very bland. I added about 2 lbs of cremini mushrooms sautéed in olive oil and dry sherry, a dash of sherry vinegar, Cajun spices, tabasco, etc before it was even edible. I give it 5 stars for being very healthy, but it was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Used 1 c sweet potatoes instead of white - used vegetable broth instead of chicken - GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Good soup - not terrific but definitely good. Used an extra clove of garlic and added hot pepper flakes while the potatoes were cooking. Used fresh broccoli and cut the stem all the way up til the broccoli flowerettes separated, then cut the stem into small pieces. Cooked the stem pieces with the potato, then pureed it well. Then added half the flowerettes and quickly pureed it, then added the remaining flowerettes and cooked the soup an additional 5min. Be careful cooking the soup after it has been pureed, it can stick and burn in the bottom of the pot. Omitted the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Yummy:) I added a little bit of chilli flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aycaydin
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I did the same as "pamc" and so my soup was smooth and nice green. All of my family enjoyed eating it, saying its really good tasting. It is also healty liked this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aycaydin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
MARJORAM!! Replace the nutmeg with marjoram and this soup rises to a new level. My husband said it was the best soup I've ever made. I also followed the recommendation to add more potato to get a thicker consistency. It was fantastic! I am getting ready to make a double batch now because my husband and I ate the whole pot of soup in 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States