Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by drella
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
When I made this soup I could not believe how incredibly creamy it was without any dairy at all. I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen. Per the recommendations I added an extra potato and when I blended it I though it was the perfect consistancy. A few other adaptions I made: I also added some red pepper flakes while it simmered. When I transferred the mixture to be blended I also added some fresh lemon juice and a squirt of spicy mustard. I left out the nutmeg as I didnt have any in house. Next time I make this soup I am going to try and make it with cauliflower instead of broccoli, as I think it will be just as good. (Edited after making this recipe with Cauliflower, it wasnt anywhere near as good as when made with cauliflower)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I can't fault this soup at all! I think its wonderful BROCCOLI soup so you should definitely expect the broccoli taste! My only addition was some smoked turkey ham I had roughly chopped because I think the smokey taste is always welcome in soups but otherwise I listened to other reviewers and added my fresh broccoli right at the end to keep the bright green look and stirred in some cream cream for a smoother flavour. Also paprika spice for great aesthetic appeal! Wonderful quick and easy recipe! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
DH and I are sick with a summer cold, so this soup was perfect. For more vitamins and minerals, though, I sauteed onions, LOTS of garlic, celery, carrots, then added a garlic bouillon cube, and 3 or 4 chicken bouillon cubes, 3 large peeled, chopped potatoes, and 3 chopped heads of fresh broccoli. Seasoned with a touch of salt, and simmered til veggies were soft. Shut off heat to cool. Then pureed in blender and reheated. Added salt and pepper to taste, with some ground red pepper. Perfecto! In individual bowls, I also added some shredded mexican blend cheese (because that's what I had, but cheddar would have probably been better) to the kids' bowls. Everyone inhaled it and went back for seconds and thirds - even my pickiest. I've always added milk to mine, but this definitely didn't need it.- thank goodness, because we are almost out of milk and I am too sick to go to the store for it. Vitamin packed and healthy, it was delish! Thanks! Four stars because I added all the other vegs for flavor and health - but I assume its great without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KETHRAE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mandy
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was a delicious, hearty soup. I used Edward and Sons "Not Chik'n" broth (delicious!) to keep it vegan, doubled the potato like many others here, and used fresh broccoli instead of frozen. I saute-ed the solid ingredients in a cast iron skillet before dumping them in a soup pot with already boiling broth. It was so flavorful I'll definitely be making it a regular in the dinner menu :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Awesome! I used canned potatoes because they come out smoother in the blender. Also, I kept some of the broccoli chunky so the soup wasn't so green. Add some tobasco to the blender for a little added flavor. Very low fat--but you can't tell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
its gr88 recipe, i added just a lil bit butter for more flavour,didnt had fresh potatpoes so used idaho mashed potato powder instead,it turned out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
My husband and I both love this recipe. It's quick and easy and tastes great. I tried it for the first time last month and I've made it three times since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I was surprised I liked this as much as I did. I though it would be boring, but the nutmeg makes it. It was simple to make and seems quite healthy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Great soup! Didn't use the nutmeg. I did add about a cup of water and a teaspoon of powdered chicken boullion because of evaporation. I also used fresh broccoli and dried garlic. It was better than an organic broccoli soup that I bought at Wegmann's! I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Minesing, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States