Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
YUMMY!! Woke up in the middle of the night STARVING (yeah right lol). Found this recipe. Perfect and quick! I too was scared of the nutmeg so used thyme idea. However here is MY twist on it. I had no chicken broth so used powdered chicken bouillon with 3 cups water and (secret ingredient) one can of cream of chicken soup! I did NOT add any salt as the creamed soup and powdered bouillon had plenty of salt in it. Uh oh, too fattening with the creamed soup? Oh well, I think it adds more flavor! :-) Either way great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueBeaWhoMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Nothing extraordinary, but a delicious broccoli soup. I used fresh home-grown broccoli, which took a little extra effort, but made for a fresher tasting soup with vibrant color. I will definitely make it again this winter with frozen broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Awesome recipe! I used fresh broccoli, onions and garlic from my garden and wow, I love this. The added thyme and sage as suggested is great! Wasn't to sure about the nutmeg so I omitted that! I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hohenwald, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I got this exact recipe from a good girlfriend of mine last week. The only change she made was to use a couple big flowerettes of cauliflower to cut down on the carbs. I used organic chicken broth and using the cauliflower gives you the same creamy effect as a potato would and this is wonderful even without cream. If you want a heartier soup, chunked ham or turkey ham is a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drella
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
When I made this soup I could not believe how incredibly creamy it was without any dairy at all. I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen. Per the recommendations I added an extra potato and when I blended it I though it was the perfect consistancy. A few other adaptions I made: I also added some red pepper flakes while it simmered. When I transferred the mixture to be blended I also added some fresh lemon juice and a squirt of spicy mustard. I left out the nutmeg as I didnt have any in house. Next time I make this soup I am going to try and make it with cauliflower instead of broccoli, as I think it will be just as good. (Edited after making this recipe with Cauliflower, it wasnt anywhere near as good as when made with cauliflower)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I can't fault this soup at all! I think its wonderful BROCCOLI soup so you should definitely expect the broccoli taste! My only addition was some smoked turkey ham I had roughly chopped because I think the smokey taste is always welcome in soups but otherwise I listened to other reviewers and added my fresh broccoli right at the end to keep the bright green look and stirred in some cream cream for a smoother flavour. Also paprika spice for great aesthetic appeal! Wonderful quick and easy recipe! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
DH and I are sick with a summer cold, so this soup was perfect. For more vitamins and minerals, though, I sauteed onions, LOTS of garlic, celery, carrots, then added a garlic bouillon cube, and 3 or 4 chicken bouillon cubes, 3 large peeled, chopped potatoes, and 3 chopped heads of fresh broccoli. Seasoned with a touch of salt, and simmered til veggies were soft. Shut off heat to cool. Then pureed in blender and reheated. Added salt and pepper to taste, with some ground red pepper. Perfecto! In individual bowls, I also added some shredded mexican blend cheese (because that's what I had, but cheddar would have probably been better) to the kids' bowls. Everyone inhaled it and went back for seconds and thirds - even my pickiest. I've always added milk to mine, but this definitely didn't need it.- thank goodness, because we are almost out of milk and I am too sick to go to the store for it. Vitamin packed and healthy, it was delish! Thanks! Four stars because I added all the other vegs for flavor and health - but I assume its great without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KETHRAE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mandy
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was a delicious, hearty soup. I used Edward and Sons "Not Chik'n" broth (delicious!) to keep it vegan, doubled the potato like many others here, and used fresh broccoli instead of frozen. I saute-ed the solid ingredients in a cast iron skillet before dumping them in a soup pot with already boiling broth. It was so flavorful I'll definitely be making it a regular in the dinner menu :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Awesome! I used canned potatoes because they come out smoother in the blender. Also, I kept some of the broccoli chunky so the soup wasn't so green. Add some tobasco to the blender for a little added flavor. Very low fat--but you can't tell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
its gr88 recipe, i added just a lil bit butter for more flavour,didnt had fresh potatpoes so used idaho mashed potato powder instead,it turned out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States