Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I was very disappointed in this soup and my husband did not care for it. Will have to doctor what is left if we are going to eat it. He said it definitely tastes low calorie and would never make it in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I had to doctor this soup up with Greek yogurt, Swiss cheese, & Dijon mustard. If you’re going to use this recipe then skip the nutmeg, skip the potato, & add more onion, garlic & maybe some celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Very good, easy to prepare soup! This one is going in to my winter recipe collection :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Easy and delicious. I sub vegetable broth, add a little more garlic, and a bay leaf. Remove the bay leaf before you puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
After reading some great & some not so great reviews, I decided to give this soup a try even though my first impression of the ingredients did not appeal to me. Should have stuck with my first impression because I found it very bland, and watery. I used fresh broccoli which may have affected it some and left out the nutmeg. After doctoring it up with some cream, cheddar cheese, and butter and also thickening it with some flour, it was much better. This one is not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I am not a picky eater, adore ALL vegetables and have loved almost every recipe I haved tried from this website, but this one is lacking. I agree with others who've said it is bland. I made a big pot of this soup and seriously thought it might end up down the drain. Yuk. Started doctoring it up and finally got it to a place where it has a pleasing flavor. My additions? A tablespoon or two of butter, 1/2 cup of milk, some garlic powder, onion powder, a splash of soy sauce. a splash of lemon juice, some cajun and creole seasoning to give it some bite and a good shake of parmesean cheese. I think I would also skip the nutmeg if I ever made it again. I've seen other recipes here for Cream of Broccoli soup and think I'll make one of those next time I have a lot of broccoli I want to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Nice texture although a little bland, would benefit from additional flavoring eg lemon juice, more spices. I added a second potato for more thickening. Very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This soup is AMAZING! I didn't change a thing! It taste like creamy broccoli soup with no dairy and few calories. Thanks! I make this almost once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I really did not like this soup at all. As written, it was very, very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I'm really surprised at how well-reviewed this recipe is--I followed the recipe exactly except that I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen, and threw in an extra small potato, and I found that the texture of this soup is like gruel. I hate to waste food so I threw in 2 cups of milk with some flour to thicken it, and some garlic salt and let it simmer longer. I ate it with some cheese melted into it, and it was just okay. I won't make this again. If you're on a strict diet and trying to cut out as much fat as possible, the recipe as written might be good to try, but not otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States