Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
This is a great soup! I skipped the nutmeg and added fresh thyme instead. I also used 2 potatoes. Was great with a small amount of freshly shaven parmesan cheese as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
A very good and easy soup. I used a large baking potato, so the soup was nice and thick after blending. Also, I didn't add the thawed broccoli until the potato was already tender, and just cooked it a few minutes more so that the broccoli kept a nice green color and fresh flavor. My family, including my 9-yr. old son, really liked this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
I was worried after reading other reviews of this recipe but gave it a try anyhow because it looked so easy. It turned out terrific!! It was a little bland but I just added some chopped fresh sage and a little season salt and it turned out great! And you can't beat it for healthy. For my husband I stirred a 1/4 c of chopped proscuitto (you could use ham too) into his and he loved it. I also doubled the potato as per previous reviews here and I loved the thick texture. I will definitely put this in our monthly rotation - thanks Lon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Greaet recipe! But boy, did I mess it up - I had very bad jetlag and decided to make this at 2a.m. since I could not sleep - I must have been really zoning as I did NOT sautee the onions and garlic - I just threw everything in a pot and started cooking :-) It turned out great!! As far as I am concerned if you can mess up the receipe and it still turns out well, it's a keeper :) Used veggie broth instead of chicken and fresh broccoli. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BluJaysGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This recipe rocks, especially if you're obsessed with soup like I am! It's totally easy and totally tweakable. I used fresh broccoli, two small red potatoes with the skins on, and omitted the nutmeg (had none in the house). I also threw some reduced-fat white cheddar cheese in the bowl and it got all melty and delicious and tasted as good as the Panera broccoli cheddar I love but can no longer eat because it's awful for you. But even with the cheese this recipe is low-cal. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
Wow! This is a fabulous, low-calorie soup - great for dieting. I used light margarine instead of olive oil, to save a few calories. I added a couple more potatoes, requiring me to add a little bit of water (in addition to the chicken broth), and since I only had 16 ounces of frozen broccoli, I used some fresh broccoli, as well. I also added 1/4 cup of half and half at the end, just to make it a little creamier. I wouldn't have touched this as a kid, but now that I have realized how wonderful broccoli truly is, I loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Fabulous Broccoli Soup! I too used fresh broccoli, omitted the nutmeg, and added red pepper flakes to give it some kick. Really adds to the flavor. I also used evaporated skim milk to make it creamier, but the potato pretty much does that on its own. Love this soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This is SO GOOD and super easy! I added an extra small potato because other reviews said it was not thik enough and it was SO thick, I could have eaten it with a fork! But good, I also added 2 stalks celery. YUM YUM YUM! Will make again and again (with just one potato)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Very good! I used vegetable broth instead of chicken because I'm a vegetarian. This soup is excellent for a low calorie soup. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Delicious! And FABULOUS for dieting! This is a hearty soup but very lite! Creamy consistency and rich in flavor without all the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States