Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I have made this twice in the past two weeks! I add an extra potato, omitted the nutmeg, added white pepper and a little Velveeta (I had some that I had to use up). The first batch I used broccoli cuts, and ended up with little "strings" in the soup after I blended it. Second batch I used just frozen florets and this problem was eliminated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Very healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This is a great recipe. I used two bunches of fresh broccoli. I peeled and sliced the stocks and only pureed the flourets. I also added 1 more potato and 2 extra cups of chicken broth. I also increased the nutmeg to 1/2 tsp. This is a new favourite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I wanted to eat the whole thing. Also used red pepper flake olive oil. I think it added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
very tastey but i was hoping for a " WOW THATS BROCCOLI" taste and i think the large onion took away from that... next time i will use a small one but keep the garlic the same... i didnt put nutmeg init because i just don't like it. The soup is thick i used a fod processer to puree it because it was alread sitting there the blender was not :) my 21m old even likes it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Sorry, really don't understand all the rave reviews. I really wanted to like this healthy soup, but it was just blah. It's great for my diet (as it took away my appetite!) Had to put a lot of salt just to make it palatable. My 5 yr old didn't like it either (pitched it as Leprachaun soup ;) Will not make again. Also, I didn't have a hand blender, so had to use regular blender, which definitely takes a bit away from the e-zness of this recipe. If you use this approach, don't overfill the blender, my first batch went all over the counters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Good! I used yukon potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Loved this soup...! No dairy, no flour. Easy and quick to make. Substituted Nutmeg for Chili flakes. So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenifaOHjenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This soup was fairly good, although I did make some changes. I used 2 potatoes, fresh broccoli, and added a splash of red wine vinegar. In the end, this soup seemed to be missing something, but I couldn't quite put my finger on it. I think something like ham or bacon would add some salty richness and really make this soup amazing. That being said, considering this soup has almost no calories compared to most main meals, it was very good. It was creamy and thick, and left me full. However, my husband, who hates broccoli, hated this soup. More for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Quick and easy, and I found the immersion blender worked really well in the pot for getting a 'mostly pureed' texture. The potatoes really give you control over how thick you'd like the soup to be. I'll do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States