Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Can't thank Lonbinder enough for this recipe. I have been looking for a good broccoli soup recipe for a long time! This is awesome and simple! And it appears to be versatile... but it was GREAT exactly as presented! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I skipped the nutmeg. Added 1/4 tsp. cayenne. Was very good, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Delish. Used a ton of my CSA broccoli in this soup. Turned out great and froze well--just thawed a container last week and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
My wife and I tried this recipe and found it to be excellent. We did not have nutmeg but still found it to be extremely easy and yummy. We also added an extra potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I followed other reviews and used 3 potatoes & fresh broccoli. I substituted the Nutmeg for Pumpkin Spice (you could also use cinnamon). I had beef broth instead of chicken. I followed the directions exactly as they are posted.... It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Acton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I ate every last drop! I used subed two cups of milk for two of the broth... Very healthy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Have been making this soup for a long time. Only changes being that I use leeks and add some hot pepper flakes. Great, easy and healthy - nice to have a soup that does not call for milk products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Having had to re-think my eating habits, I was looking for a broccoli soup recipe that was low in calories. I was skeptical about how it would taste without all the cream and the cheese that's in my favorite recipe from here......but I have to say that this one is not missing on anything.........except the calories. I like my soups a bit chunkier so instead of using a hand blender, I used a pastry cutter to mash it up, and added a dash of worchestershire and a bit more garlic. This one is my favorite now, and I will be using the potatoe as a substitute for a thickener in many other soups from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikski

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
LOVE this. Super easy and a great way to use up extra veggies. I didn't have nutmeg so I used a few other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This is oh so lovely! One potato was perfect for me. I can't imagine how thick it would be if a second potato was added. Not sure why so many people are skipping on the nutmeg. I thought it was a nice touch. Don't go crazy and add a bunch of "extras" to this soup, unless its spices though I didn't think it was needed. It totally defeats the purpose of this being a low calorie soup! A little fresh hot pepper is a nice kick if you want some heat. Oh, and since I'm the only person who seems to do the da** dishes in this house, I just used a potato masher instead of adding the pain of taking apart and cleaning the blender. I started mashing 13 mins into the cooking and allowed the soup to simmer and thicken for another 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States