Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Like others, I used fresh broccoli. I used 2 unpeeled potatoes and had to add another can of chicken broth. I used an immersion blender and seasoned with salt and pepper and had to agree with those who said it was bland. I added about 3/4 tsp. dried thyme leaves and stirred in about 2 tablespoons of light butter, and what a difference! I served it as an appetizer. My 15-year-old son, who is hesitant to try new things, said that he liked it. My husband went for another serving after dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I tweaked this recipe to get a creamier and more flavorful result. The first thing I did differently was to use fresh broccoli as opposed to frozen. Also, I omitted the nutmeg and used thyme instead. I didn’t have chicken stock, so I used vegetable stock instead. It was finished with heavy cream and parmesan cheese for a creamy touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
really easy and delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This recipe is a good base. I expanded on it a little....I had the chicken broth and also some left over chicken gravy and mashed potato, which was perfect for more flavor and the thickening agent. I love that it was so creamy smooth without any cream! I also added some baby bella mushrooms to the stock which upped the flavor some more. Steamed my fresh broccoli, then used some of the leftover water to stretch the broth, put it all in the vitamix and voila!! silky smooth, awesome flavor, I sauteed some of the baby bella's and some chantrelles to sprinkle of top when I served it. Also, saved a few sprigs of broccoli to place on top...added the nutmeg, just a hint of fresh grated and some thyme from the garden. This was good enough to write home about!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Loved the recipe. It is very similar to an old potato soup recipe I made when first married. Yes as a previous reviewer stated the nutmeg isn't for a nutmeg flavor. It is to enhance the other ingredients. I makes a world of difference in the final outcome of the whole recipe. I did make changes to the recipe for 2 different reasons. 1 is allergies. The other is available ingredients. I skipped the onions because my husband is allergic to them. I also skipped the broth. That was because I didn't have any on hand. Because of that I increased the amount of broccoli by 4 ounces to make sure of plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Well as written its SO BLAND- doctored it up (had to!) and it was very good. Had to add a 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 Tbs garlic powder, 2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp black pepper and 2 triangles of laughing cow light cheese. Couple of tsp shredded parm and it was very palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I cut this in half and used fresh broccoli, but otherwise made it as written. It was quick, easy and absolutely delicious. I don't know why everyone is omitting the nutmeg, you don't really taste it.. it's there to enhance the other flavors, not to take center stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aerisma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Couldn't eat it. I no longer trust the reviews. For more than 10 years I've been trying recipes from this site and many have been excellent--this one was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, I'm not sure that that's what would have made this soup so bland, though. Too bad I doubled the recipe because I had a lot of broccoli. I added about a cup of grated parmesan which kind of improved the flavour, but not by much. Sorry, wouldn't recommend this soup nor make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States