Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Sorry, really don't understand all the rave reviews. I really wanted to like this healthy soup, but it was just blah. It's great for my diet (as it took away my appetite!) Had to put a lot of salt just to make it palatable. My 5 yr old didn't like it either (pitched it as Leprachaun soup ;) Will not make again. Also, I didn't have a hand blender, so had to use regular blender, which definitely takes a bit away from the e-zness of this recipe. If you use this approach, don't overfill the blender, my first batch went all over the counters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Good! I used yukon potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Loved this soup...! No dairy, no flour. Easy and quick to make. Substituted Nutmeg for Chili flakes. So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenifaOHjenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This soup was fairly good, although I did make some changes. I used 2 potatoes, fresh broccoli, and added a splash of red wine vinegar. In the end, this soup seemed to be missing something, but I couldn't quite put my finger on it. I think something like ham or bacon would add some salty richness and really make this soup amazing. That being said, considering this soup has almost no calories compared to most main meals, it was very good. It was creamy and thick, and left me full. However, my husband, who hates broccoli, hated this soup. More for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Quick and easy, and I found the immersion blender worked really well in the pot for getting a 'mostly pureed' texture. The potatoes really give you control over how thick you'd like the soup to be. I'll do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This is a nice low-fat soup but didn't have a ton of flavor. I added some half and half to mine to make it more creamy which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigglebox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Good soup. Made according to recipe, but used fresh broccoli and an extra potato. Hubby added shredded cheddar to his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This was a great soup but I like creamy so I recommend some cream cheese added yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This just lacked any flavor...I ended up following suggestions and adding things (cheese, sage, ham) to try and liven it up...but it was just missing something. Bummer. So healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
simple and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States