Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This is a much healthier recipe than the "all mayo" version with bacon we usually eat. I like my broccoli crisp so I didn't blanch like some people recommended; I even added some diced celery for more crunch. I didn't have sunflower seeds so I used salted cashews; I also skipped the OJ since I didn't have that but I added a splash of apple cider vinegar and pinch of sugar to the dressing which is similair to the version I usually make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Easy and light summer side dish. I took other reviewers suggestions and blanched the broccoli first - 1 min in boiling water then directly to ice water. I will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBONO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Love this recipe! I added a couple of tablespoons of frozen orange concentrate to brighten the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I love broccoli salad, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I would recommend blanching the broccoli or putting in a microwave for a couple minutes. Low fat or fat free mayo, no bacon, afterall, low fat is the key :) Add 'liquid Smoke' flavoring to give the dressing a bacony flavor.... also, dried cranberries can be substitued for the raisins. A few cashews could be substituted for the sunflower seeds...adjust calorie count.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This recipe is so delicious. I just about doubled the raisins and sunflower seeds and added an extra TB of OJ because I love the sweet flavor of brocolli salad dressing. I also added 1 TB of honey. Wow... will be making this again! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This recipe gave me a great jump on creating a fanstastic and healthier version of broccoli salad. Being new to eating vegetarian, I was looking for a punch of flavour without the bacon (which yes, does make a delcious sald...) I made slightly more dressing as most reviewers mentioned, but I added honey dijon mustard to the dressing. It is absolutely amazing, and gives that extra flavour I would have missed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Very tasty! Like others, I doubled the dressing but also added about 1/2 cup of crumbled feta cheese. The feta adds the perfect amount of flavor to this great salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin
Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Light and refreshing. Helps that I love broccoli... I fully support the blanching followed by salad spinning to remove the water - the sauce is already a bit runny with that OJ. I added salt and pepper and both my husband and I thought that was a sufficient enough addition to the recipe. No, it's not overly flavorful but just the right amount of tasty (this coming from a couple who likes their salt and spice). Served it with horseradish mashed potatoes and roasted pork. We'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Easy to prepare, but I thought it was lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States