Broccoli Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2001
OK, here's my "improvements". I used basalmic vinagar, and here's the best part...craisins! They make this really, really special. I got this recipe from a close friend which included the craisins. Also, per her suggestion, I "melted" the vinagar with 3Tblsp. sugar in the microwave before adding the mayo. Makes for a smoother dressing. I promise, those little cranberries make the difference. I now omit the raisins all together. Try it. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I didn't have green onions, so I used half of a red that I had to use or lose. For the dressing, I used half sour cream instead of the full mayo and cut back the vinegar to 1/4 c. as I wanted a thicker dressing. I also added garlic powder and basil. I also threw in a good sized handful of fresh parmesan cheese in with the dressing too, for extra zip. I took a taste. Really good. I bet it would be even better after sitting for a while. EDITED TO ADD: This was so good. Both my husband and I ate seconds of this. There were no leftovers! I'll make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
My husband actually ate this and liked it! I followed another poster's advice and blanched the broccoli for 3 minutes followed by an ice bath to soften it and brighten its color. I also used basalmic vinegar and a little sugar, craisins and some shredded cheddar and red onion. I give it only 3 stars because I changed it so much, I feel it's a whole different recipe. But, hubby ate it (kids wouldn't touch it, no suprise there) so I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I make broccoli salad often and I love it, I would suggest adding 1/3 cup of white sugar to the dressing to counterbalance the vinegar. I also substituted shredded cheddar cheese for the carrots and I think it taste best when made the night before as it softens the broccoli slightly and the flavors blend. Be sure to toss salad again before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
This recipe is good and I find it more to my liking when I changed two things about it. 1.)I chop my broccoli and put it in a metel strainer and placed it in a large pot of boiling water for 3 minutes and not more than that because if you leave it in longer than that, it will cook it too much and be gross. The I remove it from the hot water and plunge it into a pot of iced cold water until broc is cold, and then drain it well. This makes the broc a nice bright green, mellows the bitterness, and is still crunchy. 2.) I use rice vinegar - nice and mellow but still vinegery. * once for a party -- I was out of rice vinegar so I used about a tsp +/- of sugar in the vinegar & mayo and stirred it until the sugar was disolved. Then to the salad I added half a can of drained shoe peg corn (thin white corn) and I got a lot of raves on it from guests! I never use the raisins because we do not like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
A great way to get your broccoli! As another reader noted, substituting half sour cream for the mayo makes a creamier sauce (this works great for potato salad, too). Also, using apple cider vineger instead of white adds a touch of sweetness and more flavor, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
The dressing is too tart. Like italian salad dressing The vinegar to mayo ration is way way to high. I suggest cutting the vinegar to 1/4 c and the dressing needs sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Awesome! Simple dish that get high marks with guests! I omitted the carrots and added shredded cheese to make it lower carb! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Edible but I won't make this again. I think it's missing milk and sugar and the vinegar/mayo ratio seems off. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This recipe is such a summer staple. I've found that adding pecans or sunflower seeds for an extra crunch is really tasty. This is the perfect side dish to bring to a cookout!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States