Broccoli Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This recipe is such a summer staple. I've found that adding pecans or sunflower seeds for an extra crunch is really tasty. This is the perfect side dish to bring to a cookout!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
i just went to a cookout where someone brought this dish. It was delish! went very fast and was a big hit. i plan to add dried cranberries instead of the rasins when i make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
For anyone who, like me, gets it in their head to substitute the cup of mayo with a low calorie salad dressing: do not add vinegar! I was livid after spending an hour chopping, blanching, rendering, and mixing only to end up with a sour salad. Then I read some of the reviews that advised adding sugar to counterbalance the vinegar. Thank you so much for your sage advice! It's not the best salad I've ever made, but at least it's no longer the worst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOTHERDESTINY
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I love this recipe. It's super easy, especially with microwavable bacon. I don't like vinegar much so I cut it in half and it came out perfect for me. My husband actually ate the leftovers before the next day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I've made this a few different times, and everytime people ask for the recipe! Easy to make....I've used the already crumbled package bacon when I was too lazy to fry my own (sad huh?!) anyway this recipe it a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIGNINGMOMMYOF2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
My husband actually ate this and liked it! I followed another poster's advice and blanched the broccoli for 3 minutes followed by an ice bath to soften it and brighten its color. I also used basalmic vinegar and a little sugar, craisins and some shredded cheddar and red onion. I give it only 3 stars because I changed it so much, I feel it's a whole different recipe. But, hubby ate it (kids wouldn't touch it, no suprise there) so I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I thought the vingar was a little strong in this recipe. I added some white gran sugar so it would not be so tart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I make broccoli salad often and I love it, I would suggest adding 1/3 cup of white sugar to the dressing to counterbalance the vinegar. I also substituted shredded cheddar cheese for the carrots and I think it taste best when made the night before as it softens the broccoli slightly and the flavors blend. Be sure to toss salad again before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
This recipe is good and I find it more to my liking when I changed two things about it. 1.)I chop my broccoli and put it in a metel strainer and placed it in a large pot of boiling water for 3 minutes and not more than that because if you leave it in longer than that, it will cook it too much and be gross. The I remove it from the hot water and plunge it into a pot of iced cold water until broc is cold, and then drain it well. This makes the broc a nice bright green, mellows the bitterness, and is still crunchy. 2.) I use rice vinegar - nice and mellow but still vinegery. * once for a party -- I was out of rice vinegar so I used about a tsp +/- of sugar in the vinegar & mayo and stirred it until the sugar was disolved. Then to the salad I added half a can of drained shoe peg corn (thin white corn) and I got a lot of raves on it from guests! I never use the raisins because we do not like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
This was okay, but not as good as the one I had growing up with red onion, cheese and sugar also in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States