Broccoli Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
This is a tasty recipe, even without the bacon (I'm a vegetarian). I felt that the red wine vinegar was essential to the tanginess of the dressing; I recommend that you do not substitute white vinegar, although an apple cider vinegar might be a good substitute. Consider making this salad a day in advance and refrigerate for the flavors to develop (give it a good stir before serving, as the dressing will settle to the bottom. In place of the golden raisins, I used dried cranberries, which added color and a little zing. You could also add coarsely grated carrot for visual appeal and added vitamins. If you're going to travel with this recipe, just put the sunflower seeds in a ziplock baggie and stir it in when you serve the salad--the seeds will stay crunchy that way. You might also reserve some of the sunflower seeds and raisins/cranberries to sprinkle on the top of the salad for a pretty presentation. It went over very well at a family get-together and I was repeatedly asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I have used this recipe several times. It's always requested! I did make some changes. 6 tbs's of red wine vinegar seemed like a lot. I reduced the 1/2 c. sugar to 1/3 c. and used Splenda instead of sugar, used 4 tbs's of red wine vinegar and reduced mayo to 3/4 c light mayo. I also use the hormel or oscar meyer precooked crumbled bacon in package (found in bacon bits aisle & less calories then fresh bacon. I wouldnt recommend bacon bits. they have a stale, fake taste)Can easily be doubled or tripled for large get togethers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
This was a good broccoli salad. However, I felt that the RED BROCCOLI SALAD on this site was much better. The red grapes, toasted slivered almonds, and purple onion make for an outstanding presentation, and the flavors pique the tastebuds. I make both salads for potlucks, but my most requested recipe is that of the Red Broccoli salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
I served this at several barbecues this summer and it was always a hit! Definitely a keeper. Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Good salad. Substituted craisins or dried cherries for the raisins and didn't use the sunflower kernels...i think I used slivered almonds. I made this a while back and am just now writing a reveiw for it. But I do remember it tasted good. Will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I use dried cranberries instead of raisins, and leave out the seeds as my family doesn't like them. Also, add a cup of cubed (~1/2 inch pieces) sharp cheddar cheese for more pizzaz! It's best to add the dressing right before serving, or the broccoli will be soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Even those who wrinkle their nose at broccoli will have a small sample and enjoy this one. I have subbed crasins (they now come in several varities) when I need a change. Made this for a Christmas party a week ago and I made it again today for lunch (using the crasins). Both times = great! The combo of raisins and broccoli make this a favorite with my daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
This is a great, easy salad for summer parties. However, I doubled the broccoli in order to make enough for 8 people. I also left out the sunflower seeds and used pre-cooked bacon bits, and it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Very tastey salad! I especially like the dressing on this one. I use it for coleslaw, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
This salad was super! I will definitely make this again. I used equal instead of sugar and you could not tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States