Broccoli Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This recipe called for way too much bacon and not enough broccoli. Despite upping the broccoli to double what it called for I found that there was too much dressing. The dressing was also a weird flavor to my taste buds. Won't be making again. It could have potential though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
A huge hit a barbeques! Everyone loves this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KPOST100

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
This was absolutely SCRUMPTIOUS, and I would advise everyone to try it. Did do a lot of substituting: used Hormel real bacon bits, defrosted broccoli cuts, slivered almonds, and craisins. Cut the dressing by about 25%, and then also cut back on the sugar IN the dressing, since I used low-fat mayo. It needed a healthy sprinkle of salt. I had one problem, though--it overpowered my egg foo yung. Any thoughts as to what would go well with this if it were served as a side-dish for a regular dinner?? Or should one add a bunch of meat to it and serve it as a meal by itself?? Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thank you. It is DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I made this for a picnic yesterday, it was awesome! Everybody gobbled it up, and there was barely any left! Thank you for the recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
This recipe is tasty and versatile! I wanted a larger salad so I added baby spinach leaves & cucumber slices. I doubled the sunflower seeds, raisins and dressing to make up for the extra veggies. I also used turkey bacon and low fat mayonaise. It's still one of the best broccoli salads I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
This was wonderful. A great hit at get togethers. The only thing I will note is that you add the dressing until it is coated thouroughly but not soaked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Broccoli is one of my all-time favourite foods, so I was happy to stumble on this classic. You see broccoli salad recipes all the time, and this recipe is the most basic and splendid one of all. This recipe has JUST the perfect balance of both sweet and sour. I made it just now, and I love it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
omigoodness MAKE THIS RECIPE! it is to die for delicious!! and it only has to chill for maybe 30-45 min. before it's sufficiently delicious ( i was worried it would take forever to soften the raw broccoli but not at all) this is a major favorite.....YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I like this version with sunflower seeds instead of nuts, and green onions instead of yellow onion. The onion can sometimes be overpowering with yellow onion, and the sunflower seeds are much less work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy L. Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
I absolutely love this recipe!!! I have never heard of it, but was so delighted to have stumbled across it on your site! It is a GREAT dish to bring to summer pot luck picnics. My friends now say "Good, Jennifer brought her broccoli salad again!" Thank you for posting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USALBRECHTS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States